To disk image or not to disk image ??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cvbs, Jan 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cvbs

cvbs Registered Member

Good Afternoon All in the Know!

First of all lets get the base set... I am a novice at using this software and I am extremely humble, so don't think you will offend my intellect with any comments.. it can't happen ! :D

I have a Dell xps 400 and for the first time the other day it locked me out and I had to to a chk /r and fix the xp home o.s. to get it to reboot. I have since purchased a w.d. xternal mybook 500 g.b. hd and did a back up of c to the external. My question is I see that this software True Image Home 11 has a "clone" process (disk imaging) available. Should I do the clone (disk imaging) of my computer to the external and then do a reinstall of xp to clean up the original hd and o.s. or will just coping the data be all I need to do?

I did notice when "starting" the "cloning" instructions the information said "All the old partitions will be copied to the new disk...... 'Note that you will have to remove the old hard disk when data moving is completed"...
    Any thoughts are greatly appreciated and Thanks in advance for taking the time to answer.

cvbs

2. GroverH

GroverH Registered Member

3. jonyjoe81

jonyjoe81 Registered Member

Clone = direct hard drive to hard drive copy, the cloned drive will be overwritten completely and will be only usable as a replacement for the original hard drive.

image backup = is a compressed backup of a "system bootable partition" or "data partition". The image backup is compressed into a "TIB" file, you can store as many "TIB's" on your external as you have available space.