Tiny's Trojan Trap

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by Checkout, Mar 7, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I'm just trying out Trojan Trap 3 and I'm wondering what to do with other installed software which already performs some of its functions.  For example, ZAP 3 can handle mobile code (ActiveX/Java) and cookies, but would I be better off leaving those functions to Trojan Trap?

    Any thoughts or experiences welcomed.  Thanks.
     
  2. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    In my short experience with TTT, it seems if it is configured properly, perhaps nothing else is really needed?  TTT does provide for the possibility of completely sand boxing the system and its apps.
     
  3. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    At the moment, I can't connect to my ISP - the connection is made but no data is being transferred (ie, it won't complete the logon) since I installed TTT.

    And, boy, what an install!  I let it run overnight!
     
  4. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Checkout - That doesn't sound good. If you had to let it do an overnight install, something's possibly wrong with the d/l itself, I don't care how slow your computer is.

    I think you're going to find that TTT is going to slow you down even with a good d/l/install. Make sure you check out resources and processor usage while trying it. Pete
     
  5. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I gave the wrong impression.  TTT (optionally) does a full CRC on the C drive files.  Naturally, that takes a while!   :)
     
  6. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Checkout,

    Just curious: did you install McAfee anti-virus as well (included in the latest version as far as I know - personally I've got v1.0 stashed somewhere here).

    regards.

    paul
     
  7. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    No.  I was using AVG but I shut that down first.
     
  8. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Good decision   ;)

    regards.

    paul  
     
  9. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Agreed.  ;)
     
  10. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    What I did find - yet again - is that installing new software (at least, security/internet related software) resets from XP dialler from "any user" to "me only" and stops me connecting to my ISP!

    Damn MicroSoft!!

    Er...any chance of turning off this stupid filter so I can say D_A_M_N when it's appropriate, please?
     
  11. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    D@MN checkout, filters are nessessary! you should know tha sh!t by now. snicker.
     
  12. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Previous remark heavily edited for the sake of Anglo-Canadian relationships.
     
  13. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    I wasn't intending to insult you, I was actually only trying to demonstrate filter beating techniques. Sorry that wasn't obvious.
     
  14. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Just pushing your buttons for that snicker.  No insult taken.   :D
     
  15. crashandburn

    crashandburn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Posts:
    17
    How are you getting on with the TTT?  I've been giving some thought to it myself, ever since my last ISP (Cloud-Nine) was killed by a DDoS, but  to a barely IT-competent individual like myself it seems bewilderingly complex.

    For info, I'm running XP with a full suite of Norton 2002 Utilities (inc firewall and AV), plus some other freebies from the net (Ad-Aware, Adshield etc..).  And my system is clean and trojan free at the moment (well thats what a Tauscan said)!
     
  16. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I like it.  In fact, I'm going to spend money and license it.  It reminds me very much of IBM's RACF (Resource Access Control Facility) which is without doubt the finest security software in the commercial world.  I like the fact that I can deny IE access to all but a few registry keys and a few directories.

    But it is hard work setting up all the permissions.
     
  17. crashandburn

    crashandburn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Posts:
    17
    Looks like its going to be an entertaining afternoon for me then.

    ;)
     
  18. crashandburn

    crashandburn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Posts:
    17
    AAAAAAARGHHHHHHHHHH............. I've got no hair left!!!

    That is not so much 'hard work' or 'bewilderinglerly complex' as it is sodd*ng impossible - unless you've a very high degree of IT literacy.

    I read through the installation instructions, thoroughly, thought I understand them and tried.  Honest, I really tried!  Lost my nerve half way through the installation when I realised I didn't have a clue what I should be gicing access to / restricting etc.. and cancelled the installation.  That did a pretty good job of breaking my PC. :mad:

    BSOD, win32 corrupt, etc.. I used Roxio Go-Back to roll back to the start of the day.  My system is at least booting OK now, but its still telling me it has recovered from a serious error every time I boot and despite sending the error message back to Bill's company that message won't clear.  (I know I can disable both sending and notification, but I don't think it should be necessary once you've sent the message back).

    Checkout, if you've got that software working, you have my admiration!  Personally I won't go near it again.  IMAO, Tiny are irresponsible to release something that complex without either supporting it or pointing out that you need to be highly IT-competent to install / configure it.
     
  19. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I'm really sorry to hear that you're having so many problems.  First stop:  disable TTT.  Secondly, put it (selectively) into learning mode for each individual application.

    I know it's hard to handle - hence the warning I gave - but once you get used to it, there's no finer, more granular, control software you can use.

    Don't give up on it!  You're made of sterner stuff!
     
  20. crashandburn

    crashandburn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Posts:
    17
    Well, I didn't give up on it.  Redownloaded it (it disappeared into the electronic ether yesterday when I rolled back), gave it another shot and it appears to be fine.  In fact it appears to be fine with everything on my PC, Norton firewall and AV included.

    hmmm...  I think I'll follow your suggestion.  Spend some time configuring the individual applications (application groups?) and seeing if I can break it.  Or what it breaks.

    Wish me luck!

    :)
     
  21. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Luck to you!
     
  22. crashandburn

    crashandburn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Posts:
    17
    It broke a lot.

    :oops:
     
  23. bubs

    bubs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    THERE'S A NEW VERSION OUT

    For the benefit of anybody who finds this thread and gets worried that TTT is a monster - v3.0 is now out.

    Preconfigures MS apps straight out of the box.

    For other tweaking, there are many more folk using it now than were when this thread was live.  Give it a try!
     
  24. Grummy

    Grummy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    I'm thinking of trying TTT. One question is the site page giving program info mentions that TTT has the McAfee virus built in. I don't  want  Mc AFee. Does anyone know if there is a way not to down load the McAfee engine. I'm very pleased with my current virus program and desire to stay with it. I'd like to try TTT but not if I have to use McAfee.  :rolleyes:
     
  25. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Grummy,

    You'll have the choice to install McAfee. If you don't feel like it - don't.

    regards.

    paul
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.