TI ver 11 rescue disk does not see any SATA HD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by howardg, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. howardg

howardg Registered Member

I am brand new to Acronis (had been using Paragon Drive Image) but decided to give it a go on my new Vista x64 system. It's a new build on an Asus P5Q Deluxe motherboard. It has two 640GB Western Digital SATA hard drives, the first divided into two partitions (a 50GB C: partition for Vista and programs and the remaining 590GB as D:) and the second with a 640MB E: partition. I built the rescue disk, but it can only see the CD/DVD drive, FTP connections, and Network. It does not detect either SATA drive. I did not have this problem with the Drive Image rescue disk. What do I have to do to make the rescue disk usable?

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

The rescue disk is Linux and its weakness is a lack of drivers for some hardware, especially newer hardware. IIRC, there is an issue with the Asus P5Q's chipset. You cannot upgrade the Linux CD yourself so if you don't get a better answer than mine, you should raise an official support request with Acronis. They typically provide a new .iso file for creating a rescue CD that supports the hardware.

You could download the TI2009 trial and see if its rescue disk works and if you bought the product very recently you could contact Acronis and see if you qualify for an upgrade to TI2009. I'd do that regardless.

The other option is to create a BartPE or VistaPE based recovery CD which uses Windows drivers like Paragon probably did.

3. shieber

shieber Registered Member

Paragon, like most backup/imaging programs incldung ATI, uses linux, too, but doesn't have the same drivers as Acronis. This is why they don't all work on all the same hardware setups.

Shadow Protect is the only one I know that use windows, in fact VistaPE, on the Boot CD -- but Paragon isn't very feature rich and is kind of pricey.