TI V10 Build 4871 Trial

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by martyk4vm, Nov 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. martyk4vm

martyk4vm Registered Member

I am trying TI. Just got an external HD to which I want to back up (image? Mirror?)my 40gb laptop hd. I partitioned and formated NTFS the new HD so the first partition is 42gb (room for the whole laptop data) and a second partition for everything else. (I have Win XP SP2)

I created a rescue bootable disk and put it in a safe palce. :)

Now I am ready to do the backup (image? mirror?) and I do not understand what the menu is asking me. :doubt:

First: Why would I want a Secure Zone? And won't it mess up the partitions I made?

2. David07666

David07666 Registered Member

I'm new to TI too, just a week or two ahead of you, and perhaps others will give you a different answer, but here's my take:

- You don't want to use Secure Zone. Secure Zone is for when you're backing up to the same disk as you're backing up
    - Not clear to me whether you (or I) need to configure a Backup Location. I did but I'm not sure what the difference is between that vs just setting my backup configuration at time of image backup
    - All you need to do is tell it to create an image backup on your external HD. By default you leave the backup file name blank and it generates one for you at run time. The first time you run it it creates a full backup. From then on, up until a limit you set, it creates either differential (recommended) or incremental. The menus lead you through a series of questions which will, among other things, tell it how many differential/incremental backups to make before creating a brand new full image.
    - There is arguably no need to back up your data seperately from the disk image since the disk image allows you to pick folders and files too