TI home: my all in one solution?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Etrsi_645, Aug 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Etrsi_645

Etrsi_645 Registered Member

In short, is this the only backup software I need OR do I need something else like Syncback SE, Second Copy, or Nero or o_Oo_Oo_O

I am not sure just how much or which backup software that I need. I am somewhat new to all the products offered. I do understand the various concepts behind the different backup scenarios available in TI (full, incremental, differential---and full image vs a file/folder backup).

For complete disaster recovery of a hard drive ATI appears to be the winner hands down over the aforementioned softwares; they cannot perform disaster recovery of a complete hard drive.

But, for simple file and folder backups, many store all files backed up as individual files with no compression; ATI does not store as individual files, it appears. ATI stores the backups in a proprietary form. Is that any advantage over ATI or is it a non-issue?

Some softwares can store several versions of the files. Wouldn’t TI incremental backups do the same thing?

And what about FTP backup ability?

And lastly, is there any advantages/disadvantages that I am not thinking of.

T.I.A.

2. Xpilot

Xpilot Registered Member

The only backup software I use is True image home.
    The actual way it is used depends a bit on the hardware that you have. If your computer is a laptop and as you will want to protect the hard drive and everything on it some form of external media will be needed. DVDs can be used but IMHO the advantages of an external hard drive makes the extra expense worthwhile.
    If you have a PC there is the possibility of fitting an internal backup hard drive. This is faster and, as backups can be run automatically, more convenient.