this is my first attempt ever to do any ....

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mypenry, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mypenry

mypenry Registered Member

Ok so ive now got my brand new Saegate external HDD,
    Ive just got my copy of Acronis True image 10 and ive read through
    The guides and made an Acronis Bootable Rescue CD.

On my computer it has 3 partitions..

C FAT32 used 17.1GB
    Free 61.3GB

D NTFS used 2.21GB
    Free 73.2GB

E NTFS used 2.30GB
    Free 76.5GB

‘C’ is used for the O/S and applications
    ‘D’ is used for some past back up items ( old )
    ‘E’ is used for some Games ( old )

So I would now like to Create an exact copy ‘ C ‘
    Ive just noticed that my new Seagate HDD is formatted
    In NTFS, and my ‘ C’ drive on the computer is FAT32
    Is there any thing I have to do before I make the image copy..?

Un related to my back up attempt the items on both
    D & E I can do with out ..? any ideas please
    And yes this is my first attempt ever to do any
    Sort of backing up …

Thanks

2. jonyjoe81

jonyjoe81 Registered Member

1. dont use the secure zone.
    2. keep your system partition small (so you can back it up quickly and restore quickly) I would try and keep the total use size to less than 20gb (but preferably less than 9gb) you should only keep the important programs you use everyday there.
    3. only do "image" backups of your system partition (they will be automatically bootable ) no need to check the box to backup the mbr. No need to do clones.
    4. I only do image backups once a week and don't bother with the incremental backups.
    5. When you restore to a new hard drive, make sure that the partition your restoring to is at least 1gb larger than the image partition. Otherwise you might have drive letter change problems. (windows xp).