Thinking of Trying Eset Smart Security

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by mhl6493, May 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mhl6493

mhl6493 Registered Member

I'm thinking about trying a trial of the latest release of Eset Smart Security. It's one of the few products I have never tried at all before.

Question for long-time users - what are the primary advantages of ESS that you have found in using it over the years? What does it do well, in your experience? And what are the areas where you've encountered some problems, where perhaps it needs to be improved? And, finally, how have you found the customer service and support to be?

2. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Well it's a stable product IMO, it have never crashed for me, everything is integrated as in there's no custom installation to install just the AV engine and FW or whatever. Everything is tightly integrated and that's a big reason as to why it's so light on the systems, and as I said in another thread, all the signatures and modules are loaded into the RAM to increase the system performance, and to keep CPU and I/O read/write (HDD) usage to a minimum, wich is the other reason for ESET lightness. And the modules get's updated when they need to get updated. And they never rush out things unlike some other vendors, and they still haven't started with "ESET 2013" they keep the version numbers wich I thank them for. :thumb:

And there's no stupid browser plugins to worry about, you get the same level of web protection in what ever browser you use. And FYI all possible threats that have tried to get in got stopped at the http level by the http scanner (very effective), unless the whole URL is blocked of course and the "block page" is shown instead. And the web protection is a huge reason why I stay with ESET, and that the web protection module doesn't slowdown things.