The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. co22
    Offline

    co22 Registered Member

  2. Robin A.
    Offline

    Robin A. Registered Member

    I don´t have any problems with IDM and SD. I don´t exclude anything. I save all the downloads to a directory in a data partition, not virtualized. I don´t leave downloads incomplete (paused) when I exit virtual mode.

    I used the same procedures with Returnil for several years, never had a problem with IDM.
  3. co22
    Offline

    co22 Registered Member


    I think you have very fast internet,because dont pause it:)
    but i dont have:'(
    so some time need pause to reboot pc.file remain but registry not.
  4. co22
    Offline

    co22 Registered Member

    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  5. brianmolko1981
    Offline

    brianmolko1981 Registered Member

    Used SD the last two weeks ... absolutly great software.

    I asked myself, is there a way to create a batch-file (or similar) which i can doubleclick to make a partition in shadow mode immediately?

    Now, i have to start SD, click on the left side "Mode" and then i can click "Shadowmode".
    I wish to reduce these "clicks" ... Any idea?
  6. ichito
    Offline

    ichito Registered Member

    If you push button "Schedule" in "Mode settings" module you can enable or disable automatic entering in/out Shadow Mode. As I remember it was similar question on forum but unfortunately there is no other way to do this. This based on 1.1.0.325 version...maybe in latest version is such possibility?
  7. Arcanez
    Offline

    Arcanez Registered Member

    If you really want to reduce clicks don't use Windows. It has the double click. Although they added the single click to open and Point to Show Long ago I doubt that many People use this method.:cool:...Imagine back in those days Microsoft wasn't even allowed to have a double click then we would have a triple or quad click These days :D
  8. TheQuest
    Offline

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Hi Arcanez
    Use single click all the time when using M$, :D

    Windows Explorer> Tools> Folder Options> Single-click to open an item [point to select] :eek:

    And what the days before the mouse. ;)

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
  9. arsenaloyal
    Offline

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    this is problem faced by me as well, Outpost firewall pro settings revert back to defaults and so does admuncher.
  10. Scoobs72
    Offline

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    I've had the same with Chrome losing its Bookmarks Bar entries on version 1.2.0.346.
  11. sdmod
    Offline

    sdmod Registered Member

    Arsenal and Scoobs, I've updated Tony today with a link to this thread and I'll let you know if I hear anything.
    I'm still interested in any information from anyone who is losing software settings in firewalls, anti virus or any other software when using the latest Shadow Defender 1.2.0.355. This is one of those problems that seems to happen but not consistantly.

    Just some info for members...I don't think 1.1.0.325 has these problems, it seems to be stable.
  12. ichito
    Offline

    ichito Registered Member

    I'm using SD 1.1.0.325 almost 3 years not only to protection but also to testing many apps...huge number of apps and it was not only security apps. I had never even small issue with SD's work. I don't know why the latest versions are so "impolite"...and I don't even try to consider some reason...
  13. bo elam
    Offline

    bo elam Registered Member

    Hi Ichito, I have been running .346 for about 10 days on my XP and W7, both 32bits, with no problems at all. I haven't noticed any kind of issue. So far, I am pleased to have moved from WTF/TTF to SD.

    Bo
  14. Triple Helix
    Online

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    And I need to be sure 1.2.0.355 is fine before I try on my SSD's because 1.1.0.325 bricked my system 2 years ago when installed SSD's and then installed 1.1.0.325 and don't want to go through that again until 1.2.0.355 is more proven!

    TH
  15. LittleDude
    Offline

    LittleDude Registered Member

    The users saying that they are having no issues at all...are you using a SSD with Trim enabled? I believe that is when fellow users are experiencing problems(I could be wrong on that though).
  16. puff-m-d
    Online

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    No SSD here and I have the settings of other apps reverting to default issues (even after uninstall, defrag, and reinstall).
  17. sdmod
    Offline

    sdmod Registered Member

    LittleDude

    No that I don't think that is the same, I think the the ssd issue is resolved with the new version LittleDude

    I don't think that is anything to do with this issue.

    This problem: It's the losing settings problem of other apps, it's an old problem with Shadow Defender that has returned in this new version.

    It's not like all your apps lose all their settings all the time when Shadow Defender is installed. It's more like, maybe you've been in Shadow Mode and then go back to normal you might see that (in my case) dcom (which I had configured to been turned off) was suddenly asking through admuncher or sandboxie to make a connection. It can be other programs...I suspect it is some sort of kernel driver conflict... where Shadow Defender driver is overriding the other apps settings. Originally when I noticed this problem quite a few versions back it was Nero that would lose it's registration after coming out of Shadow Mode and AVG connecting to the internet when I'd set it not to and some people have mentioned firewalls have been effected.
    It's like the apps have gone back to default settings before you had configured them to you own personal settings. As I said, this does not happen all the time but is very unnerving when it does particularly when this effecs your security or privacy settings. I never noticed this happening in 1.1.0325 and Tony is aware of this happening as you can look back through the changelogs to when the conflict to Nero was resolved, quite a long time ago....that was this same issue.

    Patrick
  18. sdmod
    Offline

    sdmod Registered Member

    Ive had a reply from Tony as follows...my answer is at the top
    ..................................................
    Hi Tony,
    No, I don't think that is the problem that I was having or others are having.
    It is apps that have been configured for a long time revert to default setting. Not all the apps and not all the time or every time you come out of Shadow Mode.
    For example I may have set avg anti-virus six months ago to not connect out or Sandboxie or Admuncher to act in a particular way and then just suddenly when I come out of Shadow Mode and re-boot into normal mode the software settings are changed to default settings for those apps.
    When I first noticed this happening years ago with Nero, it would lose it's registration and I would have to re-register.
    I think the Shadow Defender kernel driver is conflicting or overrulling some of the other apps drivers status to keep their own settings.

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=293075&page=75




    > Date: Thu, 10 Jan 2013 02:49:00 +0000
    > From: support@shadowdefender.com
    > To: patrick > Subject: RE:
    >
    > Hi Patrick,
    >
    > After a lot of tests, i have reproduced this problem.
    > Here is my test steps:
    > 1, run internet explorer.
    > 2, sygate popuped up a query dialog.
    > 3, make 'Remember my answer...' option checked and click Yes.
    > 4, enter shadow mode.
    > 5, reboot.
    > 6, run internet explorer.
    > then the query dialog popuped up again.
    >
    > After some research, i found why this happened.
    > When i checked 'Remember my answer...' option, sygate didn't write my
    > choice into its rule file immediately. if enter shadow mode meanwhile,
    > my choice will be lost.
    > but if i close sygate to force sygate to write my choice into its rule
    > file. after that enter shadow mode, my choice will not be lost.
    >
    > This is why when entering shadow mode SD shows a confirm dialog 'Please
    > save your documents before enter shadow mode...'.
    >
    > I also noticed in wilderssecurity forum, someone had problem with
    > Chrome.
    > I will test it later.
    >
    > Best regards,
    > Tony
  19. puff-m-d
    Online

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Tony's response may be true, but I have settings for apps that have been that way for months all of a sudden revert back to their default settings. Tony's explanation may account for some of the problem, but as you see in my case, it does not apply to settings that were already in place prior to the last reboot.
  20. LittleDude
    Offline

    LittleDude Registered Member

    Sorry I thought it was just the SSD users facing problems.
    I don't always get the issues but when Firefox(with quite a few customizations) was reset it was a major PITA. Normally I get the System Tray icon viewing settings reset...annoying but not the end of the world.
  21. questionmarks
    Offline

    questionmarks Registered Member

    @sdmod:

    Would you please PM me, I can't PM you.
    I suppose I can 'answer' your PM. :)
    Thanks.
  22. bo elam
    Offline

    bo elam Registered Member

    I m using .346 on both, XP and W7 32bits. No SSD. Settings for other programs don't change after rebooting from Shadow mode. I use Windows firewall and no antivirus so I dont know how another firewall or an antivirus would behave in my computers but settings for programs like Sandboxie, Foxit and KMPlayer are OK after reboot.

    Bo
  23. sdmod
    Offline

    sdmod Registered Member

    Thanks Bo,
    This is one of those things that doesn't happen to everyone and even everytime but it's significant if it can interfere with or alter security or privacy settings on softwares like anti-virus or firewalls, system settings etc.
    I believe buggy kernel drivers can disrupt a variety of software "under" them acting (at times) like an out of control firewall stopping access to resources that some of those softwares need to function to their full extent. Anyone, please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

  24. Cruise
    Offline

    Cruise Registered Member

    The strange thing is that I am also using .346 (ever since it was released), but on W7x64 and with an HDD + mSSD (with TRIM enabled ). This is the first SD build that has been stable with my mSSD configuration (and I have not experienced any settings changes whatsoever). I only use SD on-demand without any exclusions and I'm using a 2GB RAM buffer (out of a total of 8GB). Because .346 is running perfectly on my system I see no reason to even try .355. :doubt:

    Cruise
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  25. TheQuest
    Offline

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Hi LittleDude
    My case the answer is Yes Post #1849 :)

    Also have no Page or Hibernation files.

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool: