The return of the prodigal son

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by jo3blac1, Oct 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jo3blac1

jo3blac1 Registered Member

So I first started using SBIE back in 2005 or 2006. I used it for about 1 year or so until someone told me that it's better to use AV (Why did I listen to that guyo_O). I found this forum not too long ago but for some reason didn't want to use SBIE. Now Im back using it again and it's great! My only problem is that SBIE won't detect malware/viruses from downloaded files.
    So what other AV/AM should I use? I have a license for MBAM Pro, I was also thinking about MSE. I tried HMP but it seems that right click option to scan files is no longer available (or for some reason doesn't want to install on my system). I also had Kingsoft AV which was great in the beginning but started getting lots of problems after awhile. I would prefer one more security app not two more since my laptop has limited CPU.

2. bo elam

bo elam Registered Member

:thumb: that's for getting back to using Sandboxie.

If you like to use an antivirus along Sandboxie, MSE works great along it. If you are in W7, you wont feel it at all. I don't use an antivirus but that's what I see in the computers of a few of my friends that are using both program's. No lag, no infections, no incompatibility, it can not be any better, IMO.

When MSE first came out, it was not compatible with SBIE. Soon afterward there was a fix and for a long, long time I haven't seen anyone complain about using both programs together. That makes MSE, a good choice to be used with SBIE.

Bo

3. Wild Hunter

Wild Hunter Former Poster

There are so many options. My favorite free one is Microsoft Security Essentials and my favorite paid one is Webroot SecureAnywhere.

4. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member