TeraByte Product Release Thread

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. TheKid7
    Offline

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Image for Windows/DOS/Linux 2.65a were released on August 18, 2011.
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  2. TheKid7
    Offline

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    BootIt Bare Metal 1.04a was released on August 18, 2011.
  3. napoleon1815
    Offline

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Thanks. It seems that just when I get around to updating to the latest versions, another one comes out. :)
  4. moontan
    Offline

    moontan Registered Member

    Tnx Kid7! :)
  5. ESS474
    Offline

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Testing Image For Windows and i really like it is much faster but i got a strange issue.. I make a backup of my partition C:= System, saving the backup image in partition D: and was all ok but when i see the IFW.LOG it says "Operation Completed with Error Code 0"

    o_O
  6. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    ESS474,

    That "error" message means everything has been perfectly normal. It's only when the Error Code is not 0 that you should be "concerned". For example, Error Code 1 simply means you aborted IFW before the image had been completed. I can't recall seeing other Error Codes.
  7. napoleon1815
    Offline

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Thanks for that Brian. I wasn't aware of that...I can see how any Error Code message would cause alarm.
  8. ESS474
    Offline

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Good then :) thanks.

    I'm a new user in IFW, you recommend some configuration for "Settings" and in "Compression" what you use?
  9. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    In Settings I leave everything as Defaults.
    For Compression I use the default of Standard.
    The Options choices can be confusing.....

    For Backup I use
    Validate Byte-for-Byte
    Omit Page File Data
    Omit Hibernation Data
    Log Results to File

    For Restore to the same HD I use (have to restore from a WinPE)
    Validate Before Restore
    Validate Byte-for-Byte
    Log Results to File

    I like using the Validate options. Others don't use them at all.

    Mainly I use IFD for restores but for those new to the TeraByte products, restoring with IFW in a WinPE is a more natural procedure.

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/tbwinpe_tutorial.htm
  10. ESS474
    Offline

    ESS474 Registered Member


    Thanks for answer my questions. :)

    Yeah restoring with IFD is graphically bad, but i created a Bart PE boot CD with IFW plugin, will use this. ;)
  11. ESS474
    Offline

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Image for Windows/DOS/Linux Version 2.65b made available on August 22, 2011.
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2011
  12. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Perfect.
  13. The Seeker
    Offline

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Using TeraByte's free CopyWipe program, could I copy C:\ to D:\ for instance, then copy D:\ back to C:\ after formatting C:\? I ask because I like to test out Linux distros, and having a copy of C:\ that I could just move back would be great.
  14. acuariano
    Offline

    acuariano Registered Member

    there is a new version 2.65b
    no chanelog
  15. The Seeker
    Offline

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Look 3 posts above yours ^^^^^
  16. TheKid7
    Offline

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Changelog:
    IFD & IFL Changelog:
  17. TheKid7
    Offline

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    BootIt Bare Metal 1.04b was released.

    Changelog:
  18. The Seeker
    Offline

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Bumping once as I'm curious to see if anyone has done this.
  19. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    The Seeker,

    Could you rephrase your question? Drive letters exist in the mind of the booted OS so when the computer is turned off there is no C: or D: drive. Sorry to be pedantic but I'm not sure what you are asking.
  20. The Seeker
    Offline

    The Seeker Registered Member

    No problem, I did mangle my words a little.

    Let's say we have Windows (Drive 0) and an external HDD (Drive 1). Using CopyWipe, could I copy Drive 0 to Drive 1, then at some stage reverse the process, after having formatted Drive 0? The optimal result being me able to boot Drive 0 back into Windows.
  21. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    I wouldn't try it. It might work but it depends on the BIOS HD geometry of your computer. You are cloning from an internal HD to a USB external HD and back again. If the external HD was eSATA there wouldn't be a problem.

    My preference would be to create an image of the OS on HD0 (you can store the image "anywhere") and restore that image when needed. 100% reliable. You could have images of your various Windows and Linux OS and restore the relevant image when needed.
  22. The Seeker
    Offline

    The Seeker Registered Member

    I do have a second internal HDD (seen as HD2 under CopyWipe), perhaps that would be better suited to the job?
  23. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    That would be fine as regards CopyWipe but I'd still prefer images. CopyWipe will use the whole of your second HD by duplicating free space as well as data. Images only copy data and the image can be compressed. So you should be able to put multiple images on your second HD.
  24. The Seeker
    Offline

    The Seeker Registered Member

    I see your point. I think I'll invest in Image for DOS. I've been using it for the past few days and I'm really impressed by it, seems a rock solid product.
  25. Brian K
    Offline

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Just a suggestion but I'd buy the "Bundle" and you will get the works. The Bundle is $20 more but you may kick yourself later if you only buy IFD.

    The Bundle gives you

    IFD
    IFL
    IFW
    BootIt BM with IFD GUI
    TBOSDT

    I have uses for all modules. I particularly like IFD GUI as you can use your mouse instead of a keyboard and it can set up auto images and auto restores without you needing any knowledge of scripting.