TDS Hangs with XP-Pro

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Blackspear, Dec 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have installed and uninstalled 5 times. After installation, TDS runs, then it gets to "Memory scan started, please wait a moment....

    At this point the program stops responding and can not be shut down, I still have limited mouse control. Thre system will not shut down through normal means, so have to hit reset.

    So long as I do not run the program, my system after a reboot runs perfect :D

    And, all the following files are correct...

    comctl32.ocx (Windows 9x/NT/2000) version 6.0.80.22

    tabctl32.ocx (Windows 9x/NT/2000) version 6.0.88.4

    richtx32.ocx (Windows 9x/NT/2000) version 6.0.88.4

    comdlg32.ocx (Windows 9x/NT/2000) version 6.0.84.18

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    solution:take windows xp cd and use it as a coaster or maybe a wedge for sofa or kitchen table and get a reliable windows system lol xp is simply put eye candy a resource hog

    and oh wait hold on i got an e-mail

    hmmmmmmmmm microsoft a check fo a 10000 dollars if i keep my mouth shut and talk about how grat xp is hmmmmmm


    ummmmmm i belive xp is one of the most cough reliable operting systems with top notch security and ummmmm shareing capalblitys did i mention bill gates what a wonderful man he is

    ummm and god bless microsoft
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    lmao, well to some of us plebs, XP-Pro is the next best thing to sliced bread, having put up with 98's "This program has performed an illegal operation and will shut down", XP-Pro is pure joy. One day I hope to try Linux, but at the moment that is but a dream... :D
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Blackspear,
    the Memory scan can take up to a few minutes:
    i with all start-up scans enabled on win98se can be waiting for the whole procedure between 5-9 minutes, which is really slow and long... compared to many others for whom it might be just zooooofffffff! one or two minutes or..??
    Just checking my last start, was 6 minutes and 21 seconds.
    I start TDS manually after the reboot to give it as much space as possible to quicken the process.
    With pressing the contr+alt+del during the scanning process it can even tell TDS is not responding in some cases, while if you leave it in peace it just continues after some instances and you see it getting to the next scan and testing.
    To test this, you might like to get to the configuration and uncheck this memory scan (if you can get that far if this was your first start up process still) and see if you get all through the rest of the startup, and after that start the memory scan manually from the System testing menu and see what happens.
    On XP i expect it to be all about one or two minutes at the most....
    On DCS required system files is warned for XP to have what XP came installed with and at least what is at that page, as with installing older software files can get overwritten.
    You might like to check all the files from that page, not just the OCX files.
    If this doesn't help, many people use a little tool like for instance Faber Toys (www.faberbox.com -- free and really nice ) to see which files and versions are started in a very easy way, which you might like to save and take along to the required files page or send to DCS support to see if they see anything strange.
    Fingers crossed you get this solved very soon!
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks Jooske, I did as you said and just left it alone. After about 2 minutes it went through and continued.

    It would probably be a good idea for TDS to have something visual happening at this point to show that it is working, otherwise it just looks like it has hung, at which point you try to close the program and all sorts of problems happen, as I experienced :D

    Cheers
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Blackspear, so happy with this good news from you!
    You're right, it might have been added somehow to the next version, so if not it's most certainly high on the wishlist to avoid disappointments and not to mention all the frustration and unnecessary new installs......
    I'm very sorry this happened to you, but glad you have it working now.
    Make sure to update the references from the website each day -- just copy them into the TDS-3 directory and start or reload TDS, nothing to unzip or install with those.
    Once registered you can have the updates automatically.
     
  7. EdBB

    EdBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    24
    Jooste:

    I noticed on the Wormguard( WG ) forum that WG requires Win XP SP-1 to operate.

    I am currently trialing TDS-3 with Win XP Pro ( no SP-1 ) and am quite happy with it. In fact, until I read the WG message, I was considering the package deal for TDS-3, WG, and Port Explorer.

    Is one of the "improvements" to TDS-4 the requirement to use Win XP SP-1 ?

    Having seen many of my acquaintances have difficulties with SP-1, I am in no hurry to install it.

    Can anyone recommend a good alternative to WG that doesn't require SP-1 ?

    TIA,

    Ed
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    EdBB,
    not an XP user myself i pass this part of the question to others who are and Wayne & Cie for the WG part.
    You might like to trialing WG on your system as it is to see what happens, and if not running properly you can always uninstall it, but there might come a better advice.
    You're going for the whole Action Pack? Then certainly have a look at Port Explorer too, as even the trial PE is limited in it's functions, it gives a very nice impression already.
     
  9. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I am working on the next Wormguard (v4) and it is designed to run on all Windows systems. Of course if you have a lowly Windows 95 or Windows NT installation you might need to install IE 4.0 to run Wormguard, or possibly any program written after 1997 anyhow =).

    But in regards to 98,ME,2K and XP they should all work with or without service packs. I carefully monitor which functions do what on particular Operating Systems and we test on all 32bit Microsoft OS's before we release, so Wormguard 4 and TDS-4 will be good in this respect, much better then before.

    XP Service Pack 1 isn't required for Wormguard 3, I think thats just a recommendation. I don't know why you wouldn't update to SP1 if you were on XP since it fixes a lot, but everyone is different and we hope to cater for that in the future.
    -Jason-
     
  10. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    Hi

    I Installed and ran WG on XPpro for several months without a problem.

    SP1 helped with some minor problems not related to WG.
    Several people I know also ran it without problems.
    I would try it the odds are in your favor that it will be OK.

    I installed after a defrag, Administrator logged in, no other programs running
    especially AV/AT. Minimum services.

    Regards
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Thanks for telling Grey_ghost!
    AV/AT should always be turned off at installing programs, and with WG i would turn off temporary things like firewalls and registry protection tools, such things...
    But you XP people know all about that better than me and logged in as an Administrator...........
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    I admit: I'm a little bit old fashioned (or do you say: behind the fashion?)....
    Anyhow: before installing any thing on my W98SE, every thing is closed down here (except Explorer and Systray).
    IMHO that is still the golden rule....
    Internet connection closed.
    And in case of running for example ZA: ZA is disabled from starting up, then a reboot, then closing the progs in systray near the clock, then a lot of times Contrl-Alt-Del where the rest of the bunch is shut down (except Explorer and Systray). And only then the installation.
     
  13. EdBB

    EdBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    24
    :)

    FanJ et al:

    Well, I tried installing WG today, and kept a copy of the XP install instructions handy. All went well.

    I was impressed with how quickly WG leaped on the Ad-aware Ref-Update 2.0 when I tried to open it. Apparently the program is called something like Refupdate 2.0.exe. WG spotted the extra periods and thought quite reasonably that this indicated a double extension.

    So far so good.

    I suppose that I can always stick with the current versions if the updated versions won't work.

    I guess that I should go for the "3 pack" deal on Monday.

    Thanks for the quick and enthusiastic support.

    Ed
     
  14. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Glad it all works fine for you EdBB!
    WG is just a key to be added so wont need a reinstall, and WG-4 promises to work even better, so you will not be unhappy with that upgrade; did not hear/read Wayne telling all would require a new download, only PE needs the uninstall of the eval and download/install of the full version.
    So you can order any time you like, no need to wait till monday, as occasionally the sales drop buy in the weekend to send out registration keys or you'll be among the first on monday morning to be send out.
    Congratulations with your decission!
     
  15. EdBB

    EdBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    24
    :D

    Jooste:

    I've done the dirty deed and signed up for a 3 pack.

    Thanks for all the help.

    Ed
     
  16. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    That's really great Ed! I wouldn't have waited either a single moment longer with all that good stuff to my liking so much; now waiting for the registration keys to be prepared for you! And you know this is the best buy in the security area you ever made. Congratulations and welcome to the family!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.