TDS and NOD32 working together

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by nonmirecordo, Jul 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nonmirecordo

nonmirecordo Registered Member

I've been using TDS for a couple of years but only recently with resident protection. I relied on 'on-demand' scanning and NOD32 for protection, with no adverse effects. TDS never found anything 'on-demand' and I did keep it it updated religiously. NOD found all the nasties I was exposed to (hopefully).

Now I've got a couple of questions:

Am I correct to assume that there is no conflict between the various components of NOD and TDS (with resident protection)?

How do they actually work together? For example, does IMON get to inspect an email message first, and, if it finds nothing, TDS will then intercept it and scan it?

Many thanks.

2. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member

Hi thre and welcome,
    TDS will look for malicious code the moment you try to open a file before it is allowed to execute.
    WormGuard does the same for other file types, blocking suspicious files and telling you why, with the options to look into the file and decide to run it anyway, if it was a wrong decission TDS will still block it for executables.

TDS has no email scanning, so good you leave that part to IMON; but the execution story is still valid.

3. Dazed_and_Confused

Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

Hello, nonmirecordo.

I've used both for months without any conflict. :)

4. nonmirecordo

Thanks for the reassurance both.

At the risk of being pedantic, AMON does that too. Do you know which gets in first?

5. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member