TDS-3 Learning Curve

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Soul_Flame, Apr 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Soul_Flame

    Soul_Flame Guest

    In reading the info at the website and in the user doc, I keep reading that TDS-3 has a 'steep' learning curve and that the user should take a few hours to study the product and get acquainted with its feature set in order to effectively use it.  

    Here's my position:  I'm probably going to be buying a trojan detection package here shortly and frankly, I don't have any desire to spend a few hours studying how it works.  From running through the product a few times, it's obvious that TDS-3 is a product with a very rich feature set and that if one wanted to get integrally involved with it, that is something they could certainly do.  Please don't misunderstand, I'm not disparaging that by any means, I'm just saying that I'm not interested in doing that.  I want to find something I can install, turn on, and forget about to the greatest degree possible.

    So, does this mean that TDS-3 and me are possibly not a good fit?  Do I need to be willing to invest more of myself than I'm willing to in order to effectively use it?

    thanks

    Rick
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    hey is that rick as in rick from washintion port orchard if it is wassssssssssssssss up long time no see if not lol hello any ways.

    Yup i algree TDS Isn't relly newby frindly its mainly for those that  have some back ground in runing security applications.

    its defenitly not for the beginner but it is one of the best trojan detector's in the world and updated constantly.

    Which makes it a truley valuable security software as a newby all you relly need to know is a few things.

    when you first open tds 3  and you have the fully licence verstion enable Execution protection and install it componets.

    by clicking on the button  on the top that says TDS
    scroll down and go to execution protection


    second make sure you update it imidiatly

    Same Tds button at the top algain scroll dowen up date tds now option and click on it

    make sure your conected to the net.

    last thing is your tds settings.

    lol Same button at the top That says TDS VERY FIRST OPTION CONFIGURATION.

    I HAVE FOLLOWING BOXS CHECKED

    PROCESS MEMORY SCAN
    MEMORY OBJECT SCAN
    MEMORY MUT EXE SCAN
    REGISTRY FILE  TRACE SCAN
    ECT ECT LOL.

    JUST ON THE FIRST tds BUTTON YOU CAN DO ALL THAT
    so thats perty easy.

    last thing is the system testing button click on it and hit scan control.

    youll be prompted with a tds scan control box on the left side make sure the 5 boxs on the left are checked on the right side skip the first two boxs  check 4 boxes and skip the last one your done.

    Now run your scan.

    as a newby thats the best way now i know your flooded with a hundred million qustions i know i was.

    all the other stuff is perty much exotic extras for those who know how to set up funky stuff.

    mainly for advance networking security guys.

    im sure thers some stuff i missed but its perty simple if you can do all that with just the first two buttons lol.
     
  3. Soul_Flame

    Soul_Flame Guest

    Hey Mr Blaze....nope, not the same guy, but thanks anyway for the shout out.   :)

    Well gee whiz, what you listed ain't so hard.  So wassup with the 'spend a few hours studying the user doc' riff?  If I just do what Blaze suggests, is it fair to say I'm well protected just at that level, but that if I choose to get more involved I can fine tune the security even more?

    Thanks again for that info, Blaze.  If I do end up with TDS-3, it should prove quite valuable.


    Rick
     
  4. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I have found with a little hunting in the help file, you get the info you need easy enough.
    If not, just ask Jooske or one of the other regulars.
    Hi MrBLAZE. I left Port Orchard in 1993 to move back to Missouri. Worked CS at Keyport. Lowsiest base I ever worked on, but the country's nice. I miss the mountains sometimes.
     
  5. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    yup thats perty much it but ibelive to activate the excution protection you have to have a purchesd licence which is fine if you bought tds.

    one thing i do when i have the time is i do a full system scan the system testing button by tds just click on full system scan make sure you go do something like laundry.

    or nothing better to do typ thing.

    the scan is hell of long cause it goes threw the whole entire computer lookng for even the slightest thing that could be a trojan.

    some other things are the guys around here like to set it up so it runs on start up you know when you first turn on your computer but that is anoying take to long but it is a nice extra feature.

    but it takes to much ram so if you only have so much ram i dont recomend it on start up espechialy if you have  like fire wall and other things on start up  real slow.

    but thats my newby opnione=)
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    I too start it manually after the boot and if i did scan frequently i don't think any nasty had a change to be anywhere hidden outside my collection of nasties test base (so i know it works anyway :D). I know my system can use some more finetuning to make memory available immediately after closing a process and that kind, which should make the scanning process quicker as well.
    Looking forward to the new version in near future what will be build in now for new features and abilities.


    BTW: if you have MSAgent enabled with speech on your system, you should be able to play this little helpfile script, which is an animated configuration help.
    It is asking for a WelcomeM.wav, which i can't include in this page but could email, if you like; for this reason i disabled that line to prevent frustrations of a not working script. (by putting an ' in front of that line)
    Just copy and past the whole part in a SS3 editor page and save as helpfile.ss3 and just load it.
    If you can't open the SS3 in an evaluation version, paste it in notepad and save it in the TDS-3\Scripts directory (anywhere will do) and i hope it is possible then to save it with ss3 extension.....
    Code:
    Call MSAgentForm.LoadMSAgent("Genie", SysVar("sys.windowsdirectory") & "\msagent\chars\Genie.acs") 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Show" 
    'MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "", "C:\WelcomeM.wav" 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "0", "0", "1000" 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Congratulations with your new \emp\software!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "I am here to guide you through a quick configuration!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "200", "200", "1000"
    'Sub YES
    ' Call Addline("TDS' Open Helpfile", "Did it open the help file correctly?")
    ' Speak "Yes! Great! Congratulations! Have fun with it!"
    'End Sub
    'Sub NO
    'Call Addline("TDS' Open Helpfile", "Did it open the help file correctly?")
    'Speak "No? That's a problem! We must go looking deeper into this!!"
    'End Sub
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "I'll try to show you some options now."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "300", "100", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "GestureAt", "500", "50", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Look here. With your mouse open the Help drop down menu"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "\emp\Click on the option for opening the Help file!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Or just press button \emp\F1"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "This should bring up the Help file in the right way!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", CStr(Masterform.Left / 15), CStr(Masterform.Top / 15), "1000" 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Here you find everything to answer your questions and more!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "think", "Hope to see you life in the operators forum and #TDS3 chat soon!" 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "GestureAt", "15", "15", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "First we go to the Configuration Tab, here under TDS."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "You have to enter your ISP's website, your email and email server." 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "When you're satisfied, click save and hide."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "700", "100", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "GestureAt", "800", "50", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "For the sockets choose Automated, and save" 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "100", "100", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Now you are ready for your first scan!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "GestureAt", "25", "50", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Press Scan Controll and choose all the options. You're ready now!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Save the options and wait till i left."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "25", "500", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "GestureAt", "25", "50", "1000"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "If you're done type 'yes' or 'no' to tell if you're satisfied, please." 
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Good luck and Bye!!"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Hide"
    Sub YES
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Show"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "TDS' Open Helpfile", "Did it open the help file correctly?"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "Yes! Great! Congratulations! Have fun with it!"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "200", "200", "1000"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Hide"
    End sub
    Sub NO
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Show"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "TDS' Open Helpfile", "Did it open the help file correctly?"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "No? That's a problem! We must go looking deeper into this!!"
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "200", "200", "1000" 
    	MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Hide"
    End Sub
    
    In the end you can type YES or NO to let the thing know if you're happy with it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2004
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Jooske,

    I must be doing something wrong.  I copied your script to the ss3 editor and saved it as Helpfile.ss3. I then loaded it but nothing happens.  the same is true with other scripts I load.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    With all scripts or only the ones with MSAgent included?
    Which windows version are you running?
    For instance the directory/folder Windows\msagent\chars should be there and including the Genie.acs character file (and all the ones you like!)
    In the thread here about TDS-4 i posted the msagent web sites to download those parts you might still miss.
    www.microsoft.com/msagent (must look them up again exactly:)) *
    If you're running XP, only need to download some agent characters and the runtimes for the SAPI 4 speech engine as well as making sure the voice recognition in XP is closed for the while of running the agents or the TDS voice. All the rest of agent necessities is included in XP, not sure if all the languages are included as well.
    Normally for the agents you need to have the steering part, the core MSAgent 2.0, if you want to use more then the standard US English also for every language engine you're going to install the same language core part, or you might be happy with the tv_enua or spchapi included in TDS (run it to effect installed speech engines (tts-es, text-to-speech engines), you might like to install the 6mb engine for voice recognition (to give voice commands to the agents) and you need some character in that chars folder; to spare the operators many chars downloads i work with the Genie most of time, but there are about 400 different ones over internet :)
    On the ms agent website are nice trial pages as well, which might indicate what you need to have them working properly.
    If we post a file, you have the part between [ code ] and [ /code ] which if you paste it in the script editor might look like
    code:------------------------------
    script
    /code
    ------------------------------
    or thing like that.
    Delete those code: and ------------ lines or put a ' at the beginning to have them ignored.

    For instance this little script is just the TDS voice, without an agent; save it as Congratulations.SS3
    Code:
    'Congratulations.ss3
    Call Addline("TDS' Congratulations", "If you hear this line, please type YES, if not please type NO")
    Speak "This is to test if your sound in TDS is working." 
    
    Sub YES
      Call Addline("TDS' Congratulations", "Time to enjoy the speech in TDS it's time it's time..")
      Call Addline("TDS' Congratulations", "Does it work now?")
      Speak "Yes! and enjoy yourself a lot!"
    End Sub
    
    Sub NO
     Speak "m, that needs further study, please ask more help in the forum!"
    End Sub
    
    Is there not happenign anything at all, also no error message?
    For if you pasted and saved such a script, you still have to load it from the scriptfolder to have it running.
    SS3 | Load script | locate the script where you saved it | doubleclick the script | close that folder and the script should be running or telling if there is an error.
    Is this the same with every script in those example folders?
    I have two agents at a time on my screen this moment, trying to find out how i can make them interact :)
    As it takes rather much time for me to find out they are both there standing snoring loud! (Genie and Peedy).
    Hope with this you get your scripts working or can tell where you get errors to work from there!
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2004
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Thanks Jooske,

    It was just something simple like I did not have all of the MSagent file installed.  Great script!!!

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Aha! thank you!
    I'll try to find out how to make such checks and alerts in a script. I know when i use for instance MASH as a scripting editor, which generates all those kind of tests and necessary downloads, but it has no translation into SS3.
    I'm glad you found it all!
    You might love to go to the MSagent test pages and enjoy the Peedy Ordering Pizza script; this is quite some job with voice recognition and the full interaction.
    Somewhere .....in the caves of my examples i have Merlin singing "Puff-the magic dragon" which is in an Outlook Express layout; if you want me email this if i find it back for you? hmmmmmm did not look at it long time, so not sure if it is possible to sing it in TDS :D  
     
  11. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    lol Jooske can you gimme voice of that ms agent you got of that aussie girl and tell me how to insert it in tds 3 lol.
     
  12. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    SarahJane you mean? I know only one model and she is included in a very nice piece of software, DenktopWizard of E- clips.com.au
    But: there are a couple of different versions, this moment the SarahJane desktopwizard is on discount for $10 (9,95) .
    I have her, she is a video made model, so video images of the real person to create the agent. This way she is rather big in her file, 13mb she only is really large for a MSAgent. The new one i have to catch still. On her web site, you can download a song she is singing www.sarahjane.com.au (please do't forget the AU!) and once you have the registered version of TDS and start writing scripts, for instance with Forms with buttons and all those you can of course paste her images on them or create your own slide show..... as agent she is really heavy in such a script, better stand alone in an EXE file or in the desktopwizard or course :)
    Even as a woman i can enjoy the freshness and humor and happy radiance she expresses in her photos and i can easily think of some story for a script. There is nothing obscene in any of the images there.
    It's easy to write a script in TDS with her as a desktophelper and from there call that program (for isntance the desktopwizard) and from there do a lot more funstuff and play her jukebox and have her telling some jokes, sending email for you, etc.
    With TDS you can do a lot of these as well, just what you prefer. As you've seen i disabled in the other script with the configuration the calling of the WelcomeM.wav file which i created with some speech engine; so the same way you can have midi and wave files called and played in TDS.
    Imagine you create a timer or warning, and your own wav is called at your self chosen times. With the agents and desktopwizard you can call the agent and ask it to go to some place and open functions or web browsers, surf to sites, forums, and whatever you put in them.
    Imagine the possibilities ........
     
  13. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    i just wanted the voice file not the whole agent lol you know tds voice typ thing you mean to tell me you made full blowen msn agents work with tds  are you seriouse.

    those guys are the same ones in microsoft word right.

    i dont think i got that kind of ram lol.

    no just wanted the sexy voice
     
  14. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Jooske,

    Thanks for the puff the magic dragon msagent song.  That is cool and since that is my nickname it is even cooler.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  15. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Kent, Puff the Magic Dragon, that was the reason i sent it :)
    If you have more agents you can try some of the others to sing it for you.
    Could be a nice practise to try to get it in SS3 format, didn't succeed yet.


    MRBlaze, the voices come from the speech engines at the microsoft agent pages, which are used all over internet. People can configure the settings and speed to use as a special voice for their character.
    People can edit own voices with the LISET software and create new agent characters with their drawing software and ACE, both MS tools.
    So if you downloaded the speech engines (i took the complete SAPI 4 large engine of about 40mb to be complete for dictation and voice commands etc but is not necessary by no means for all that, the smaller 6mb will do!) from the agent pages her voice is between them.  
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.