TCP (flags:AR)?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by taba, Aug 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taba

taba Registered Member

What does the following log file info mean? This particular entry is strange to me because of the AR (ack, reset?) flags, and because it's happened 20+ times in the last couple of hours. I seldom see that in my logs.

Packet sent from 127.0.0.1 (HTTP) to XX.XXX.XX.135 (TCP Port 176:cool: was blocked
    TCP (flags:AR)
    Source IP 127.0.0.1:80
    Destination IP XX.XXX.XX.135:1768
    Direction Incoming
    Action Taken Blocked
    Count 1
    Source DNS Loopback
    Destination DNS COMPUTERB

I'm also seeing repeated entries from 3 different IP blocks. Have done thorough scan with AV and trojan scanner (nothing found), and used Port Explorer (not sure what to look for there but don't see any glaring concerns).

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2004
  2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

I am not a firewall expert but at least it blocked the incoming packet.

3. dog

dog Guest

I'm no f/w expert either ...

but it looks like a loopback being sent by your PC (packet sent from 127.0.0.1 (HTTP) to ...) to your ISP's DSN server.

or it could be a http pearl overflow or something your f/w's blocking internally.

either way your OK ... it's blocked.

4. Devinco

Devinco Registered Member

Well I guess I will make it a trio of Non-Firewall experts!! :D

On OutPost Pro 2.1, I have a tight rule set and I would get a similar message.

I have an update program like TDS-3 Radius update (it does the same thing with other update utils).

In the rules, I allow it
    Outbound on DNS port to only my DNS servers.
    I also allow outbound on on HTTP port 80.

I had general rules that would block most other things.

The inbound message would pop up sometimes when I would update (not every time).