Take my advise - Microsoft security software (MSE, WD...) doesn't cost a $

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Abcd1234, Nov 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Abcd1234

Abcd1234 Registered Member

Microsoft security programs cannot protect anybody.

I really don't know what happened to Microsoft and why are they changing stuff. First, it was the great Windows XP, Vista and cool improvements in Windows 7 which are gone for the sake of Windows 8 / 8.1 Metro stuff.

Now is the anti-malware. MSE and co. were very good in may be 2 years ago. Now it totally sucks. I work in the IT support field, now I am support engineer at a IT company. I deal with security products (from Symantec, McAfee, Sophos, Checkpoint, Microsoft) everyday and also in my free time. I regularly test protection software (on my own). Windows Defender=MSE=System Center=Forefront, etc. all the same sh*t.

To be honest with one thing - Microsoft security products are very light, very stable - they are the only ones that do NOT cause a single false positive, there are ABSOLUTELY *no* compatibility issues with 3rd party code, no problems from stability, BSOD or anything like that.
    But, malware protection is totally close to zero. Only known malware might be detected, absolutely NO zero day protection, no cloud, no heuristics, which causes lots of infections.

Whenever I submit sample to MMPC via regular channel, it either never gets detected, or is detected with huge delay (too many days after submission). Never get a response (after the initial email). This was not like that - may be year or two ago - things were different.

McAfee, Symantec - they can cause slow downs, they can cause troubles with 3rd party software but they do protect and detect more (especially McAfee).

Even Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware (PRO) - this cheap tiny little program protects and gets a lot more than WD/MSE/SCEP/ MS and many others.