System Requirements For Version 4?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by kurchatovium, Mar 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kurchatovium

kurchatovium Registered Member

Hi

Will ESS Version 4 work on a laptop with Windows XP SP1 with 256 Mb of ram? Your Website says it works with Windows XP but makes no mention of which Service Packs are needed. I have been using Version 3 so far for over 7 months with no troubles.:D

2. nodyforever

nodyforever Registered Member

EAV default settings xp sp2 and 192MB, consume 13MB....

AH - uncheck modules

EAV and ESS consume equivalent RAM

cheers

3. xMarkx

xMarkx Registered Member

v4 is a new release and is therefore still buggy - sticking with v3 (since it's working well for you) until v4 has a program component update(s) may be the best thing to do. I guess you could always try it to see if it works if you want, and then revert back to v3 if it doesn't.

256MB RAM should be sufficient for v4.

Why haven't you upgraded to SP2 or SP3 yet though?

4. kurchatovium

I still use XP SP1 on this laptop I got off Ebay since it really does not pay to upgrade it. Its sort of another means of security. If this cheap laptop gets trashed by virues or spyware I can then always reload a new OS over this old one. So far its held up fairly well. ESS version 3 has done a good job. I use to use Trend Micro till they discontinued the security suite I was using and wanted to much for upgrades and license renewals.

5. xMarkx

xMarkx Registered Member

Hello,

Microsoft's support for Windows XP SP1 ended on October 10, 2006, almost 3 years ago. That means you're not getting the latest hotfixes and security updates for your system that better protect your PC.