Symantec vs Macfee? [Corporate]

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sosaiso, Dec 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    I have recently come to have the choice between either Macfee enterprise provided by work, or Symantec Corporate provided by school. I was just wondering which one, if you had to make the choice, would you choose? I want to have the better protection, but I also want to have low resource usage. My friend who is running Macfee right now on a P3 said that he had his computer brought down to its knees by Macfee. And I guess Symantec is slow enough as it is. :/

    So a rundown of my questions:
    - Which is lighter? [in your experiences]
    - Which has better detection? [I read on AV-comparitives they are about the same?]
    - Better heuristics/real time protection? [Am willing to sacrifice for this one.]

    Much appreciated.
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    IME McAfee VSE8.0i has the least amount of system inpact, memusage is a little high as to all the processes that is runs, but then again SAV 10 is a HOG on my systems, if I run SAV I tend to still use version 8. 9 was ok but still a little heavy. I have a PIII that runs SAV 8, with no problems, on another PC a AMD 2000+ that has a gig of ram and VSE 8.0i with Patch 11 that has absolutely no slowdowns at all. But as always give them both a shot and see what you think.
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,224
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    McAfee VSE 8.0i without a doubt.
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    3,955
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    McAfee would also be my choice.

    McAfee Enterprise is a very light AV, despite the numerous processes totalling between 25-35 MB VM.

    We tried a very early release of SAV 10 at work on a number of workstations but it slowed down a variety of machines to a crawl, so for now we are staying at SAV 8/9. But apparently this performance loss has been greatly reduced with subsequent Maintenance releases.

    For overall malware protection, particularly if you can install the Spyware module, I would favor McAfee.

    As suggested try the two and see which one suits you and your system.

    But which ever one you choose make sure you download the relevant upgrades; Patch 11 for McAfee 8.0i and the relevant Maintenance Releases for SAV 10. The problems of high CPU usage and the long startup scan in SAV 10 are apparently now greatly reduced.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2005
  5. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57
    I also would say go with McAfee.If you chose Symantec,when you go to uninstall it you will lose your update at Microsoft. Symantec still has no idea how to uninstall its software with out takeing other files your PC needs.
     
  6. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Oh god. I just uninstalled it. I lost all ability to automatically update?!?!
     
  7. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57
    Go see if it works,if it dont there is a fix to the problem. It took me 3 weeks to find it,was about ready to re-format untill I saw the fix.
     
  8. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I'd lean more towards SAV 10...although be prepared for more of a system slowdown than you may be used to if you used prior versions like 9, 8.x, etc.

    I've had too many bitter experiences with McAfee (yes their corporate versions) in the past that has left a bitter taste in my mouth for their products.
     
  9. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    How does one actually test automatic updates? I have it set to daily at 5pm, but nothing ever pops up at 5pm. :/
     
  10. ohmy

    ohmy Guest

    McAfee Corporate 8.0i shows negligible impact on my old 600 MHz PIII.
     
  11. ohmy

    ohmy Guest

    Someone has ripped-off my Username.

    NOD32.9
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Should have registered. ;)
     
  13. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57
    I dont know how to check auto updates,but open up IE select Tools and go to Windows Update.Check for updates manualy.See if it locks up on you.If it dose then Symantac took the files you need to run Windows Update. If this is the case,your auto update will no longer work.
     
  14. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    McAfee uses ActiveX...which is a big thumbs down for me.
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,224
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Thats not true. VSE 8.0i doesn't use it.
     
  16. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,440
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Agreed. Get a patent.:D

    Of the two I lean towards Macfee. No matter what the product is. Just me I guess.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.