Symantec Uninstall woes??

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cristofski, Oct 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cristofski

cristofski Registered Member

I have seen a few posts on this forum regarding uninstall issues with Symantec. I'm curious about this because I've been using SAV 8 and 9 for the past 2 years and have had relatively few issues. I have seen issues with uninstall due to file corruption, but a general uninstall has been pretty clean. In the next few months I will be upgrading at least 6000 users to SAV 10. I would liek to understand what sort of problems to expect.

2. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

As far as i can remember Corporate Editions aren't affected that much. More problematic was NAV2004 for home users. They seem to fix it alot in NAV2005.
    Haven't tested NAV2006 yet...

3. dwax

dwax Registered Member

I tried to upgrade from NIS 2005 to NIS 2006 and it was a night mare! Once it was installed it would'nt open up.It just sat in the task bar with an red X in it.I uninstalled it and tried to put NIS 2005 back in and thats where it got real fun! I could'nt boot upI ended up doing a system restore,once that was done the red X was still in the task bar.After about 4 hours of this I said it's enough! I uninstalled it did a sweep with SYMCLN and went to McKfee Security Suite.

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

I guess I have been fortunate with Nav. I haven't had but one instance where I had trouble uninstalling Nav to upgrade to the next version. I accidently got careless deleting another program and corrupted the windows installer, and let me tell you that a manual uninstall of nav was a real B####. But like I said it was not the fault of Nav in that case. all other times uninstall went very smooth

5. tamachan

tamachan Guest

6. YeOldeStonecat

YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England