Symantec SEP and Zonealarm

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by artiste999, Aug 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. artiste999

artiste999 Registered Member

Hi...(newbie here, reasonable computer experience in general)...

In the past my setup was:

XP Sp3 (auto-updated)
    2WIRE modem/router (ATT supplied)
    NAV (Daily update and full scan)
    ZA free (Windows FW off)
    MBAM free (run weekly)

My OS was on separate partition from my data and I kept a ghost image of of the OS partition with a clean new OS install with programs added (for emergency worst case restore scenarios...)

Seems to have worked pretty well...(no problems that I knew of).

I got a new PC (same OS and programs) and was planning on the same firewall/security setup, but the new PC came with Symantec SEP (Symantec Endpoint Protection)...

I was planning to use ZA free again, but after reading/research, the general consensus is not to use 2 FWs (SEP comes with its own).

I am used to ZA and like its setup/notification procedures...

The SEP network protection (FW) seems to have an added benefit of being updated with the live updates for SEP, but it seems more cumbersome in terms of setting up notifications. However, this may be due to my unfamiliarity with it...

So...

1. Is there any way/advantage to getting the 2 firewalls to work together?

2. Is there an advantage to using the Symantec FW? (I am assuming that by using their package all together, the pieces are well integrated...and I already mentioned the automatic updates.)

3. Is there an advantage to using the ZA free FW instead (and turning off the SEP FW)?

Also, after perusing these forums, I am specifically concerned about keyloggers (eblaster, etc.) and wonder if my security/FW/AV/MW setup is sufficient...and on a general level, am I missing anything that I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance for any help/opinions!

Cheers,

Artiste

Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  2. 3GUSER