Sygate vs LnS

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Kentish, Jun 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kentish

Kentish Registered Member

At the moment I am trialling Lns, in place of Sygate personal but I was hoping to be able to obtain others opinions of Sygate in comparison to LnS.

I realise this board is heavily into LnS, but all I want is top security, with simple and clear operation, something that will not confuse me or my family when using the pc as so far I feel LnS is very daunting in its appearance at least.

So in that vain, does anyone have an opinion on Sygate personal firewall,in comparison to LnS or done the same move I am considering ?

Cheers

2. Phant0m

Phant0m Registered Member

Hey Kentish

Try both and try others, find one “you” feel most comfortable with… ;)

3. Chuck57

Chuck57 Registered Member

I've tried them both and now use Sygate Pro. I'm a relative newbie regarding security and nearly ignorant of firewalls and what's good and what isn't. From all I've read both here and elsewhere, LnS is probably as good a software firewall as you'll find. The problem I found is that there is a learning curve, or knowledge curve perhaps.

Sygate, free or Pro, is fairly well set up from the get go, which is what I needed. Sygate, either version, is not a lightweight in the software firewall realm. It's a very good firewall and properly set up by someone knowledgeable is one of the best. I run it basically as it downloaded. I don't understand making rules. I only know that in several tests , pcflank and others, it shows me to be fully stealthed.

I also like the stealth feature in the Pro version that blocks websites from seeing my browser information.

If you know what you're doing, LnS may be the best. If you don't, I vote for Sygate. Take a look at Outpost and ZoneAlarm too.

4. Phant0m

Hey Chuck57