Sygate or Zone Alarm?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by New Firewall user, Jul 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. How does Sygate free compare with Zone Alarm free. I'm new to this and want the best protection I can get. I hear good things about Sygate but have heard a lot about Zone Alarm too except for the problems with version 5. Which version is best?

2. John2004

John2004 Guest

I've tried both and I think Sygate free is much better than ZA free. Sygate has good logging, rules, and protects well. I guess it's a matter of personal preference.. You might try both and see which one suits you best.. Sygate is very good though.

3. chew

chew Registered Member

I read somewhere that Zone Alarm is a bit difficult to uninstall? But I cannot confirm that now since I lost the link to the thread.

I am looking at Sygate and Kerio now. I think both of them are good but to me all firewalls are complext thing to set up. hmmm ....

:)

4. dangitall

dangitall Registered Member

If you're looking for simple setup and good protection, give ZA free a try and, if you don't like it, I've never had a problem uninstalling it whenever it was necessary.

5. RadicalEdward

RadicalEdward Registered Member

I've used both at one point or another during my periods where my Mcafee lisence expired.

I found that both gave me adequete protection but that Syngate eventually crapped out and demanded that I register it...I must have missed a free lisence key explanation somewhere along the line. I personally liked ZoneAlarm beter because the interface was easier to use/install/configure. I've heard more negative feedback about ZoneAlarm, some have claimed that it is one of the easier firewalls to crack, but this is only from what I've heard, for all I know it could be someone trying to give it a bad rep.