SUPERAntiSpyware 4.20.1038 Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by G1111, Aug 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,034
    Location:
    USA
    A new Beta version is out. I just downloaded it. So far no problems.
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    651
    I'll try it
     
  3. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    Is it 64bit yet?
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    where can i get the beta download from?
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Here :thumb:
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    manny thanks:thumb:
    is this the free version or paid version?thanks in advance
     
  7. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,034
    Location:
    USA
    I downloaded it from Major Geeks and it was the free version. I am a paid user so all I needed to do was enter my registration code to convert it to the paid. The free version is a scanner. The paid version also provides up-front protection
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks for the info:thumb:
     
  9. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    The program will run on 64 bit but in 32 bit, I think its on the agenda.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    is is getting better and better:thumb:
     
  11. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Armacham
    Is the realtime protection enabled in vista 64?
     
  12. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Canada
    Whats new?
     
  13. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    USA/KY
    What's new in this pre-release version?
    The following are the most significant changes in this version.
    Interface and Functionality Changes

    * Enhanced diagnostic interface and submissions
    * Resolved rare issue where update would not be allowed if interface was open
    * Resolved/Improved various interface issues/text

    Technology Changes

    * Over 50 technology additions to the scanning engine - new definitions being created to take advantage of this new format - this will GREATLY increase detection for new threats
    * Enhanced DDA (Direct Disk Access) and improved compatibility with various NTFS formats
    * Enhanced detection of rootkits
    * Enhanced Process Interrogation Technology
    * Enhanced Multi-Dimensional Scanning to handle various packed formats
    * Enhanced detection of hidden registry keys
    * Improved performance of the First Chance Prevention (Coming Soon for Vista)
    * Scanning speed increase under certain conditions
     
  14. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
    IIRC Realtime is fully operation in 64 but it is First Chance Prevention that is not working under 64bit yet.
     
  15. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    This 'beta' will not be available through the auto updater in the program (I'm using the Free version) until it's approved and 'final' I gather?
     
  16. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    @stijnson, correct. In fact running the built-in version check with beta will re-download the older stable release.
     
  17. sneakybit

    sneakybit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Some very interesting changes. SAS has saved me more than twice in the past.
     
  18. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Armacham
    Thanks Champ!
     
  19. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    When you say "built-in version check," do you mean the auto-updater? If that's the case, then I would have to disagree with you. I've been running the beta version for a couple of days now, and it has not reverted back to the old, stable version.
     
  20. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    I don't mean the definitions check. I mean the version check you do via settings. As I don't have SAS installed ATM because of debugging other issue I can't be more accurate about where you find the option to check for latest program version. However it is independent of the definitions check.
     
  21. S_O_S

    S_O_S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Is the detection of malware through file name one of the new interesting features of this advanced scanner?

    http://img367.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sascq6.jpg

    It is so interesting that SuperAntiSpyware detects some malwares using file names. For example (just one example, some others are shown in the above img), every file called AVSERVE2.EXE is Sasser Worm to SuperAntiSpyware engine.

    Since 1995, haven't we evolved past using filenames for detection?
     
  22. agagouga

    agagouga Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Confirmed. Just created a txt file & renamed to AVSERVE2.exe...
    SAS Pro 4.15 says Sasser...o_O
     
  23. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
    Yep i can also confirm "find file" very much in use for that particular file name too but thankfully "multi dimension scanning" means more than one way of scanning for known malwares;)

    Here's s good example by renaming a Trojan-Conhook downloader file...thankfully no find file detection here:D
    fud.jpg


    Anyhow's a warm welcome to Wilders:thumb:
     
  24. S_O_S

    S_O_S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you for your welcome ;)

    Oh no, no attempts at FUD. If you better read my post, you'll see I've written "detects SOME malwares". I've never said they use file name as the only-way to detect malware, there are other cool ways ;)

    The question is: it's unthinkable to use file name as unique detection parameter for a malware. Don't you think so? A security company that makes use of file name as detection parameter? Something must be going wrong in the world :D

    If you want to play a bit, just try some other ones:

    Code:
    [I]
    LIVESEXCAMS.EXE
    WEBSAVINGSFROMEBATES.EXE
    BARGAINS.EXE
    MSBB.EXE
    MMOD.EXE
    PURITYSCAN.EXE
    PURITYSCAN2.EXE
    WINSERVN.EXE
    SEAR1.EXE
    WAPICC.EXE
    WAPIIT.EXE
    WAPISU.EXE
    RH.EXE
    CS4P028.EXE[/I]
    There are obvious reasons to not use file names, every security company know this ;) Or, at least, they should know this ;)
     
  25. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    Wow, a definition that's been in the database for 3+ years. Interesting that we have had ZERO reports of false positives on that filename in over 10 million users and 100's of millions of scans! Guess the technology works like it's supposed to! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.