Suggestions for a Windows 8 Pro 64 bit setup.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by innerpeace, Jul 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. innerpeace

innerpeace Registered Member

I just built a new PC that is running Windows 8 Pro 64 bit. My PC has an SSD for the OS and a HDD for data and large programs. I also have a UEFI type BIOS. I'm new to all of the tech in the PC and OS.

So far I have installed Keepass and Sandboxie 4.04 paid. After I get everything installed I will create a standard user account for my daily use. If you have a link to information on the best way to setup a standard account I would appreciate it.

What other programs would you suggest I install to protect this PC? I would like to use as many free apps as I can. I would like some sort of execution prevention or HIPS program. I would also like a good firewall. On my old XP 32 bit machine I ran Sandboxie, OA HIPS/firewall, Avira and Returnil or Shadow Defender (on demand). I also had free MalwareBytes and SuperAntiSpyware for on demand scanning).

2. Brandonn2010

Brandonn2010 Registered Member

To be honest, if you have Sandboxie, I really don't think you need a HIPS, policy-restriction program, or Shadowdefender. Anything bad you may run across would be sandboxed so execution prevention wouldn't be necessary. I'd recommend a simple free AV, and HitmanPro for on-demand. Maybe change to a different DNS server as well, such as Norton DNS or Comodo DNS.

3. innerpeace

I put a lot of faith in Sandboxie but I guess I like having an extra layer. Maybe I don't need it with a standard user account and UAC. I'm honestly out of my comfort zone here. I also like using a light virtualization app for trying new programs and surfing the dark side of the web.

Does HitmanPro have the option to scan individual files and folders? I'm really looking for something to scan all files I remove from the sandbox. I use VirusTotal or Jotti but I still like to scan locally.