Stupid Laptop question about XP

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Nov 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HandsOff

HandsOff Registered Member

Is XP the same operating system on both laptops and desktop computers?

The reason that I ask is that I bought a laptop with a bunch of lousy software installed and an annoying rescue disk that will only "rescue" you to the miserable configuration that the computer had when it was sold. That is to say loaded with bogus ISP software and trial software and lame version software.

I'd like to think that if I ever have to re-install XP I could just install the operating system, and then add the software that I want. I am ashamed to say that I don't even have a clue as how to uninstall some of this third party software. Many, if not most are not even listed in Add and Remove Programs. I would already have just reformatted by now but I have little experience with laptops and am afraid I will just end up having to restore the whole bloody mess and be worse of than I am now, since I have at least gotten rid of the easy to remove stuff.

It's not a pressing issue, but it would be reassuring to know that I could just start from a clean slate.

It is a Compaq C301 laptop by the way. With XPH service pack 2.

-HandsOff

2. wilbertnl

wilbertnl Registered Member

The installation CD for laptops and desktops is identical.
    During installation the setup will determine which hardware drivers and energy saving features need to be installed.

3. screamer

screamer Registered Member

4. HandsOff

Thanks Guys -

That is sort of what I thought. I guess the thing to worry about would be having a back up of the system drivers. There's no guarantee that windows will have them all.

Eventually I guess I will reformat, but for the time being the computer is running smoothly so I am not inclined to tempt fate

-HandsOff

5. wilbertnl

wilbertnl Registered Member