Strange NOD32 script-distribution problem

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by An10Bill, Feb 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. An10Bill

An10Bill Registered Member

OK

Have to admit that I'm fairly new to NOD, but I think I've set it up all correctly. I have about 150 computers on wich to distribute NOD32 (mixture of W2K/XP and W9X) so I've chosen to use the execute by script distribution method (since this will work for W2K/XP clients as well).

I've made all the packages, and testet them on the servers with the PUSH method, and then I've created a folder where nod32installer.exe is placed.

I've also modified the current KIX logon-script to execute the nod32installer from the above mentioned folder/share after uninstalling our current McAfee solution.

Everything works nicely it seems, except for the fact that after the client has run the script, the mcAfee crap is uninstalled, the nod32installer.exe is run, and on the console the job for the computer running the script appears as pending..... then it tries to start install, but soon fails with the following error message: "Could not set up IPC connection".

I've tried to state the Administrater/Password and Domain entries correctly, but error re-emerges..... If trying to run as local workgroup administrator, the installation tries to start, but then just hangs (I let it hang to 60 minutes - nothing happend)..... Tried running from another computer, same error.

PS: Both clients tried are Win XP clients (with SP2 - firewall OFF)

Also tried the PUSH installation on above mentioned clients, and then gets same ERROR - seems to me then that this is not releated to installation method, but more an XP/SP2 problem ?? (PUSHING to W2K Server worked fine - and I also suspect my login script will work for W2K/W9X computers but this I haven't tested yet). Even if it works for W2K/9X I have to find a solution for this, because we have about 40% XP's with SP2.....

Any suggestions ??