Step by Step Restore and “Windows will not start because of Computer Disk Hardware"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by paul3mcnulty, Jan 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paul3mcnulty

paul3mcnulty Registered Member

I have finally recovered from a catastrophic hard disk failure using ATI 9. This was a fairly emotional ride, where I found myself cursing ATI, but have begrudgingly come around to support it.

This post may help some folks. Keep in mind that while I am pretty technical (started with DOS), its not really what I do for a living.

As background, this is for Dell 4600 running Windows XP SP2 and 160GB SATA drive. Dell installed the new drive when mine died.

Step By Step for ATI 9 that I found helpful.
    I went nuts trying to do the ATI restore. I could not find any HELP for my problem – restore an image from an external drive to a newly installed formatted hard drive. I came across this post and it helped a lot. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=162555&highlight=step

If you've already installed the TI software, be sure to make the bootable Rescue CD. You will need this to Restore/Recover your Backup Image in case your HD will not boot nor cannot be fixed. If you did not create the disk, you might be able to install ATI on a similar machine and create a Rescue Disk (see boot.ini issue below if you go this route).

1.) Install the new hard drive
    2.) Boot with the ATI Rescue CD. I selected “Full” version as it includes USB drivers.
    3.) From the Rescue CD's ATI menu choose "Add New Disk". This will partition it so that ATI will recognize it. Follow the steps till complete.
    4.) Back at the main ATI menu choose "Recovery"
    5.) Follow the prompts to choose your Archive (where you have the Backup) and Destination drives