step by step please

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jopras, Jan 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jopras

jopras Registered Member

Hi, excuse me for being a bit slow PC wise, I'm still learning. I have XP Home. 250 gig HD, and 80 gig external HD for back-up. I also have Acronis True Image 9 and Acronis Disc Director Suite.

My problem is backing up to the erxternal HD. I cloned my PC Hard Drive to the external HD, and then later did two Incremental Back -ups. I am now told the external HD is full.(I should mention I have two Partitions). What I am trying to do is copy my Pc to the external HD and keep it up dated so I could set myself up elsewhere, if it became neccessary.

I feel I have made a fool of myself and have to start from scratch. Please could someone give a step by step on 1) How to format the External HD removing the partitions (I have two partitions on the PC as well.) and 2) give me a step by step on how to do the Back-up properly. Many thanks. jopras.

2. shieber

shieber Registered Member

For backup with ATI do a search on this forum for "Grover" and then read the material in the links at the bottom of any of his posts.

For formating, the steps differ depending on which drive and whther use the command line disk editor or the windows interface. Best bet is to open Windows Help and search on "partitions" then highlight and display "Delete a partition or logical drive".

3. bodgy

bodgy Registered Member

You might be a little confused between cloning and imaging.

In cloning, you have copied your PC hard drive exactly as it is and transferred it to the external, therefore it takes up exactly the same space as your current drive. As the external drive is 80GB and your PC drive is 250GB the clone probably only just fitted on and adding two extra largish files filled it up completely. Not sure how 250 has fitted on an 80GB unless TI has only cloned the actual sectors in use.