SpywareBlaster v2.0.2 Released

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Paul Wilders, Jan 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    v2.0.2 has several internal component updates and also fixes a few minor bugs. There is a new progress display when downloading updates. In addition, the opening and closing speed of this version has been greatly improved,
    along with the kill bit setting speed.

    The database update adds 16 new items.

    Use the built in Updater and follow instructions.

    regards.

    paul
     
  2. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    Thanks for the information. Does the old version have to be uninstalled first? Thanks.
     
  3. dr_cool_j

    dr_cool_j Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Great Program guys, why doesn't the check for update, update to 2.02 it would be way easier
    or at lease have working link to upgrade to 2.02




    Jason
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Digiti,

    It's not absolutely necessary, but it is almost always better to remove old versions first.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    Dear Pieter, I uninstalled after first disabling all checked items, then rebooted. After rebooting I installed the new version without any problems. Thanks.
     
  6. Arne2

    Arne2 Guest

    I uninstalled the old version and installed the new version. Database is 23.01 with 109 items. Cheked for update and new udate is available. Downloaded the update and databases (.dtb files) were deleted. Did this many times and each time the files were killed. OS is WinXP Pro. So I now have a non working spywareblaster version 2.0.2 I would like to download version 2.0.1 again since I have overwritten my previous download of it. Anyone?
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Did you post at DSLReports about this problem? :)

    I'll copy over my response from that thread:

    Databases can be manually downloaded from the following locations:

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/sbdatabase/sbdatabase.dtb
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/sbinfo/sbinfo.dtb

    Download both files and save them to your SpywareBlaster directory. This should take care of the problem for now...

    Also, I would greatly appreciate if you could e-mail me at javacoolsoftware@hotmail.com with system specifics -i.e. programs you have running (AV, firewalls, etc.) and any other information you feel might help in diagnosing your problem. TIA. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  8. Arne2

    Arne2 Guest

    Thanks for the links to the files. Now the database is up to date, except for that I can not use the download function in the program. But I am OK until next database update, or program update :)

    Mail is on it's way in 5-10 minutes, and it was me in DSL too.

    Regards
    Arne
     
  9. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Looking forward to the e-mail. :)

    You should always be able to grab the latest database files from those locations - I'll post if the location changes.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  10. Red Boy

    Red Boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Louisiana
    As info: Downloaded new version this morning. Downloaded on top of old version. No problems. Everything went fine. Database automaticall came up. Downloaded and installed updates. Database now 125 items.

    Love this program.

    Red Boy
     
  11. pin

    pin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    it's not supposed to be a running process (in the background like spywareguard), is it? cuz i don't see it.. i assume the killbits are just written right to the registry?
     
  12. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,838
    Location:
    New England
    Pin, that is exactly right. It doesn't run in the background. Once the kill bits are set, you are protected. You really just need to run it occasionally, to check for updates.
     
  13. thinghy

    thinghy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Be
    thanx for a great program like this, it's not usin' resources (I wanted to ask thesame as Pin did) and I'm protected.




    ps,I can't help it I'm not an active member of this forum,but be assured you get Belgian visitors from me ,grtz, thinghy (dingske) ;)
     
  14. claire

    claire Guest

    Welcome aboard thinghy

    And don't worry you're not the only belgian in this forum ;) :)
     
  15. Frankallen

    Frankallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks so much for such a Great Program! Uninstalled the older version and Installed v2.0.2 with updates, works like a charm!! Thanks Again!!
     
  16. e_

    e_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
     
    ...Kewl

    Many thanks!

    :)

    e_
     
  17. museheart

    museheart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    RE:
    " Re:SpywareBlaster v2.0.2 Released
    « Reply #10 on: January 24, 2003, 08:58:17 PM »

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    it's not supposed to be a running process (in the background like spywareguard), is it? cuz i don't see it.. i assume the killbits are just written right to the registry? "

    I was wondering about this also. So to clarify this...once I check to protect against all, do I leave it running as long as I am on line or close the program?

    Also JavaCool, I want to put your link up on my new page called:
    Fighting Back and I wonder if you have a graphic or icon for SpywareBlaster?

    Here is the link:
    http://home.mchsi.com/~museheart/fight.html

    I hope to make this a very informative page for lay people. ;-)

    Peace,
     
  18. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Once you check to protect all, you may close SpywareBlaster.

    No graphic or icon currently - but one is being worked on :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  19. museheart

    museheart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    Dear JC,

    Thanks. And please let me know when you get one...I make a few graphics but I'm not that good. :(

    Anybody like my page?

    Any suggestions?

    Peace,

    Museheart
     
  20. gunnarj

    gunnarj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Posts:
    80
    museheart said:


    .......................


    Museheart,

    I like your webpage a lot. It is presented very well, with top-notch links.

    best,

    gj :cool:
     
  21. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    o_O Okay where did you hide the download for the new version of SpywareBlaster 2.0.2? I am either dead tired, glasses blurred or :cool: - take me by the hand and lead me gently. :D Thanks.
     
  22. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,838
    Location:
    New England
  23. ranger_cole

    ranger_cole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    I am using 2.01 and when try to update through the program updater a message states you have to download it from the website. I have already downloaded from this site.
     
  24. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    Did you ensure current version was closed when attempting to install new version, as this would prevent proper installation .
     
  25. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    2.0.2 is the latest version (released just recently). If you haven't downloaded it, please try installing the new version.

    If you have tried installing the new version, and it didn't seem to install, try uninstalling SpywareBlaster, restarting the computer, and then installing the new version. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.