SpywareBlaster 3.2 doesn't detect my Mozilla 1.7

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by erobatino, Aug 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. erobatino

erobatino Registered Member

Hello all,

I'm new to SpywareBlaster, but my initial install seems O.K. - EXCEPT that it won't recognize/protect my Mozilla 1.7 install. I started to try out the advice I saw in the "Mozilla 1.7 / Firefox not detected" thread, but when I renamed my registry.dat file I immediately "lost" the Mozilla profiles I was using (they're in a different directory than my Netscape 7.1 directory - maybe that's causing the detection problem?). I put back the registry.dat file and reinstalled Mozilla and everything's cool now except that I STILL don't have SpywareBlaster protection for Mozilla. Any suggestions? I'm running Win98SE (and my MSIE 6.0 SP1 IS protected).

Thanks,

Evan

2. erobatino

erobatino Registered Member

Finally got my SpywareBlaster to detect my Mozilla install (I'd also upgraded Mozilla from 1.7 to 1.7.2 to get the latest three Mozilla security updates). Bottom line: I believe a corrupt registry.dat file was preventing detection of Mozilla since, when I recreated this file it was about 4k in size (the original was about 1.2MB in size). Here's how I fixed the problem:

Noted where all my Mozilla and Netscape profiles were installed (I have three Mozilla profiles and three corresponding Netscape profiles, so as to avoid possible corruption problems that could be caused by sharing them). You can do a find on "bookmarks.html" if you have trouble finding your own profiles. In particular, note the EXACT names of these profiles so you can make Mozilla (and Netscape, if applicable) rediscover them.

Exited Mozilla and Netscape; renamed the registry.dat file to "registry.bkp" (this file is in the Mozilla subdirectory above your profiles).