Spyware Blaster 3.4 won't update in Win 98SE

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Island_Boy_77, Jul 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Island_Boy_77

Island_Boy_77 Registered Member

Hi All
    I've been using Spyware Blaster since 2.something, and have been very happy with it. I am a computer reseller / builder / VAR in New Zealand, and install SB on most of my client's computers. I have just put together an old P200MMX system as a cheap "1st computer" for a client. I managed to get SB 3.4 to install (after downloading the necessary DLL from the web), but it refuses to update. The computer has SyGate Firewall (as do all the computers I do installs on... :D ), and access has been set to "Allow" for SB. However, even Exiting the Firewall still yields the same result: SB sits there for a minute or so, then reports the good old "can't update" message. Interestingly, after that, no other programs can access the net either, which I'm sure is significant, but I can't think in what way. A restart "clears" the problem, but I still can't update the program. Surely there must be a way around this. Please help! o_O
    Thanks

2. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

3. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

Since there is more than one message that can be displayed....would you post what the message actually says Please.

4. Island_Boy_77

snowbound - no, I can only get 2 of the 5 items to download. The other 3 simply open a web page with heaps of data on it (am I supposed to copy and paste that data into a text file?)

Bubba - after installing vbrun sp6 and mscomctl.ocx, still no joy. I exited my firewall (sygate 5.5) and anti virus (avast) and got this message after trying an update:

Error connecting to update server

There was an error getting the update information file from the
    server. The server may be temporarily unavailable, or there may
    be a conflict with firewall software installed on your pc. The