SpyBotS&D 1.1 new update method?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by marti, Oct 17, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    It seems that the new version of SpyBot forces you to install all updates, instead of only the ones that you want.

    For example, today's update is:

    Languages
    ++ Magyar + Espanol
    Dialers
    + EOPS-Connector
    Spyware
    + Cydoor + Gator

    Many of don't need more than one language installed in the program.

    Any information on this?

    thanks,
    marti
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Not really, but it's easy to correct:

    Go to Program Files\SpyBot S&D\Languages, and remove everything but the one you want.

    Cheers,
     
  3. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Great idea, Tony. But I can't figure out a way to remove them. :D
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    How do you mean?

    I just went there and deleted all but "English".

    Works fine!
     
  5. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Tony,

    I can't remove any of the listings. We are talking about this page: http://pages.sbcglobal.net/computermoon/spybot_lang.jpg
     
  6. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    For the ones you do not want ...on that page..right click and then delete them..does not that work for you ?
     
  7. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    No. I can't highlight and delete nor right-click and delete. All I can do is change to a different language.
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Marti,

    Please read what I posted.

    Shut down SpyBot

    Now launch Windows Explorer, navigate to Program Files\Spybot S&D\Languages.

    Doubleclick the Languages folder in order to open it, and delete the language files you don't need.
     
  9. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Sorry, Tony. I have a problem reading the font size on this site. If I really want to study a thread, I have to print it out. I was able to remove them, once I followed the instructions.

    thank you,
    marti
     
  10. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Thanks Tony,

    the "trick" worked fine here ;)
     
  11. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sorry about that, Marti.

    Anyhow, glad to hear you guys got it fixed! :)

    Cheers,
     
  12. PepiMK

    PepiMK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    43
    Hey guys, no need to delete the additional languages :)

    The language updates are still one file for each language, but if you don't have the option to show foreign updates checked, they won't even be displayed (if you would enable this option, you would see that all the other files that are not beeing downloaded)!!
    So the main update (Includes - Updated detections) does not contain any 'useless' localized files :D
     
  13. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ingenious! :D

    That's true, I did check that one!

    I didn't know what it would entail.

    Thanks for the heads up!

    Regards,
     
  14. claire

    claire Guest

    Hi,
    I have Spybot 1.1 and" show foreign languages" UNCHECKED
    but even if I use the trick given by Tony Klein the English
    language file keeps on coming back(I use the french version)
     
  15. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  16. PepiMK

    PepiMK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    43
    The english file indeed comes back all the time... as it is the basic language of the program (=> kind of a reference), it gets recreated on each program start. This is necessary because if the local language file would not contain every translation, the program would take the missing texts from the english file.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.