Spybot...Getting Updates

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by zarzenz, Aug 7, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    UK
    I've just installed Spybot and very good it appears too once I got used to it after a few runs.

    Question is, what is the correct method of getting the latest update. I went to the update link and there appears to be loads of plugins that can be selected for download. Is this what must be done... the user has to decide what to get. Or is there some way that a complete update to the latest build or ref file (something along the lines of AdAware) can be done all in one go to save all that decision process.

    I like all this stuff to be as automated as possible... let the software do the deciding while I do the using kinda thing.
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Zarzenz,


    That's it.

    This will not be implemented. Fairly all users do regard it as a very useful way of updating. The updates available on the pic below for example are of no use to me; I don't want unnecessary bloathing on my system.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah... good point, and in fact the first thing I did after installing it was to delete the language folder so I'm with you on that one. So thanks for that... I guess I was just thinking there may have been another way that I'd missed and just wanted to be sure... you have done that, so now I shall go and see what to get plugged in for my added security.

    BTW... on my first run it found loads of 'i am big brother stuff' so got rid of it straight away... hope that was the right thing to do. So far everything still seems ok.
     
  4. Prince_Serendip

    Prince_Serendip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    819
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi zarzenz! I gather from your question that you do not know or aren't sure what you need in an update? Try e-mailing Patrick or go to the Spybot Forums and ask there. Here's the link to the Forums:

    http://patrick.kolla.de/spybotsd.html

    Good Luck! :)
    (I like stuff automated too! Doesn't always work that way.)
     
  5. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Prince_S,

    Well... not so much not knowing what to update as I haven't really had time to take a good look at all the updates available yet... and that was the point of my post to make sure of the correct procedure before jumping in to that section and then maybe finding there was an alternative way to do an 'all in one' but now Forum Admin has put me right on that question I can take a real good look at whats on offer in there.

    Yeah... when you posted your reply... I was just looking at the forum there... looks useful, so will go through some of the posts there... already seen a ref to the big brother stuff... something to do with AOL buddy list fonts so hopefully that wont affect me even though I use AOL... I dont need to change the buddy list look at all.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.