SpyBlaser and Citibank

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by John Wirt, Apr 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John Wirt

    John Wirt Guest

    I installed SpyBlaster this weekend and on Monday (tax day) I tried to access the Citibank web site to access my accounts. No go. I am unable to login. I enter my userid/pw and am taken to a second login. There is no way to get beyond the login.

    I spent and hour and a half with Citibanktech support deleting all my cookies, turning off all SpyBlaster protection, resetting my IE 6.1 security levels to "medium," returning all cookies to "accessible" from "prompt," deleting all cookies, etc., etc. Finally, tonight I reinstalled IE 6-1. All to no avail. I am still unable to access Citibank with IE 6.1

    I can access Citibank with Mozilla just fine.

    I also have Spybot Search and Destroy and Adaware 6.0 installed. Maybe I have too much protection. :)

    What is the problem here?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi John Wirt,

    First (please don't laugh) check your system clock if that is set correctly.
    Second, please enlighten me on this (if you can):
    Quote:
    "While cookies are not required to log into Citibank Online, Citibank recommends you modify your browser settings to accept cookies in order to save your user profile."
    From: http://www.citibank.com.sg/portal/faq4.htm#Q2

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    If you deselected all items in SpywareBlaster and pressed the "Remove Protection" button, all changes that could possibly impact access to any website are removed.

    If you have any more information it could be helpful in regard to figuring out how to fix your problem (whether the problem was caused by SpywareBlaster or not :)).

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  4. jwirt001

    jwirt001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Pieter,

    I have my IE 6.1 set up as follows:

    Security Tab
    "Internet" set to Medium (the default)
    "Trusted" sites security level set to Default = Low
    "Restricted" sites security level set to High (default)

    Privacy tab
    (unchecked) Override automat5ic cookie handling
    Security level = Medium (default)

    Still, the Citibank site will not take my card number, selected userid, and password.

    The Citibank tech person said that my browser is not accepting cookies. Just like you said. So why not?

    John Wirt
     
  5. jwirt001

    jwirt001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    JavaCool,

    "If you deselected all items in SpywareBlaster and pressed the "Remove Protection" button, all changes that could possibly impact access to any website are removed."

    I did do this. I unchecked all items and removed protection. Thi made no difference.

    "If you have any more information it could be helpful in regard to figuring out how to fix your problem (whether the problem was caused by SpywareBlaster or not )."

    See response above. What else should I tell you?

    Mozilla works fine. I have Opera, too. If I installed it, I'm sure it would work, too.

    I have "repaired" IE 6.2, too.

    John Wirt
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi John,

    Try these settings please:
    Check the "Override automatic cookie handling"
    Set First Party Copokies to Prompt
    Set Third party cookies to Block
    and let me know if you indeed get prompted to accept the cookie(s).

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. jwirt001

    jwirt001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Pieter,

    Sorry, I (mistakenly) addressed my reply of a few minutes ago to JavaCool.

    Thanks for your attention to my problem with Citijunk.

    John
     
  8. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No problem, that's what I'm here for. :)
    Did you solve this problem?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  9. jwirt001

    jwirt001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    NO, I did exactly what you said but it made no difference. I'm thinking of calling Citibank again. It's puzzling.
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    It certainly is puzzling...all the steps you have completed should disable nearly anything that could be causing this problem, unless you have recently installed a proxy.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.