sp2 how can i delete it?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by frank47, Aug 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frank47

frank47 Registered Member

since i downloaded sp2 boot time increased to 2 1/2 mins.Dont like it.want to get rid of it.Restored pc to earlier date,and it was gone,but it still was heavy mbs on system,so i deleted it from add & remove.And my system went crazy,so i restored again.Now its back on and i would like to get rid of it.Im a novice.so any help would be greatly appreciated.Thanks

2. maddawgz

maddawgz Registered Member

HI frank..I tried to uninstall it in safe mode but it said, some programs might not work duh!! thats 80% of them since i installed it after a reformatt ! but then i figured theyle fix any bugs soon anyhow..and its ok i dont find it anoying anyhow.. I think i panicked a bit after the install...anyhow my boot time is fine? if anything the same u sure its sp2o_O regards maddawgz :eek:

3. frank47

Thanks Maddy I got the same messages in regular mode.I guess i`ll live with it

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

I am making a guess here but I installed sp2 then did a restore and reinstall of sp2 and it took a few gb's off my drive. I am thinking that all of the disc space it takes even after a restore is back up files. If I figure out how to get rid of the backups this leaves I will post it back here.

5. frank47

Thanks BigC. I`ll be waiting

6. bigc73542

I cleared the restore and I regained 18gbs on the Hdd. having to reinstall sp2 caused it to completely back up my os twice plus what was already on the restore partition. Frank47 you can get the lost gb's back by clearing the restore. you just wont be able to restore to before sp2. Sorry it took so long to post back.

bigc

7. frank47

Thanks BigC.I decided to live with it.Rather than risking screwing up my os again.

8. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

9. bigc73542