Some questions from a newcomer(novice).

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Ohmy, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohmy

Ohmy Guest

Hi.

I'm a novice in this paticular area(security),
    and I learned English as my second language,
    so this question might be hard to understand for some of you.

Facts:

I use Vista.

I'm a registered user of ESET NOD32 (expires end of this year, and unable to renew it, because the ESET in my country no longer supports for home users)

I use a router (wireless for my laptop i'm using).

But the best discovery I made is a program called Sandboxie.
    I like the idea that it "sandbox" stuffs and it is free.

Now here are my questions.

1. Is my security setup "secure" enough?

2. Is there any program that is free and that goes well with Sandboxie?(I think I heard it goes well with Returnil, but I don't have an idea what it is)

3. I use the Vista built-in firewall, is it okay?

4. Can you answer these questions in a very basic English so that I can understand? ;)

2. Someone

Someone Registered Member

Hi

Welcome to Wilders!

1. It depends on your surfing/computer habits. Security wise, Sandboxie is really enough, but the biggest security hole (the user) make the most mistakes so there is a chance something might slip through Sandboxie

2. Sandboxie and Returnil works but there is a lot of overlap - they do similar things. You could add some on-demand scanners or behavioural blockers. Are you willing to pay for security programs?

3. Yes. You can also get Vista Firewall Control to make it easier to use

4. Hopefully I have ;)

Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  3. HURST

HURST Registered Member

1.- this depends on your habits. There are people running no security at all and stay clean for years.