Some questions about Outpost

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Kingy, Sep 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kingy

Kingy Registered Member

I have just recently installed Outpost Firewall Pro V3 and have some questions for the folks here. In the system tray, the icon for Outpost is a blue circle with a white question mark in it, is that the way its supposed to look? Has anybody heard of any conflicts between Outposts antispyware plugin and MSAS. I'm totally new to using Outpost but i've heard it mentioned a hell of a lot of times here and thought i'd give it a try. So any help at all would be great.

2. Chuck_IV

Chuck_IV Registered Member

The icon has several different looks, depending on what "mode" you put Outpost in. The Blue ? means Outpost is in the "Rules Wizard" mode, which is the default. There is also a plugin that you can add that will display the icon as an incoming/outgoing graphical throughput monitor(similar to what Zonealarm shows).

As for conflicts, so far, I haven't seen any with what I'm running. I'm running Spy Sweeper along side Outpost 3 and I keep OP's realtime spyware protection on, without issue but I don't run MSAS's realtime protection.

Last edited: Sep 30, 2005
  3. mercurie

mercurie A Friendly Creature

Silly me... :oops: I have been using Outpost for a while now and was unaware of this plug in. As I hate the Blue question mark. Just me maybe but it resembles the symbol of a problem or cluelessness. Maybe it is trying to say something about its owner :D

Can you give this clueless owner more information on the plug in Thanks. ;)

4. flyrfan111

flyrfan111 Registered Member

5. Kingy

Kingy Registered Member