SMTP AND POP rules for Kerio PFW4

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by yogishree, Jan 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yogishree

yogishree Registered Member

i have ME OS installed on my computer alongwith
    a)Kerio PFW4
    b)DNSKong
    3)Proximitron
    4)Dexter

Rules have been imported from Sponge at Geocities.
    Thes are working excellently except that they do not say anything about configuring my Mozilla Thunderbird recently installed by me.
    I have obtained names of SMTP & POP servers of my ISP but not able to set them up in the ruleset.
    I am a newbie. Can anyone out there help .
    Thanks in advance.

2. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Hi yogishree

... and welcome to Wilders :)

You will need to permit your mail client outbound access to remote port 25 (SMTP) and remote port 110 (POP3). You could also restrict these rules to your ISP's servers.

Protocol: TCP
    Action: Permit
    Direction: Outbound
    Application: (Your Email Client)
    Remote Port: 25
    Remote Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Protocol: TCP
    Action: Permit
    Direction: Outbound
    Application: (Your Email Client)
    Remote Port: 110
    Remote Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Regards,

CrazyM

3. yogishree

Thanks CrazyM for the very quick response.

Could you tell me as to where exactly are these rules to be placed since I understand this could be important.First few rules of my FW restrict DHCP to the remote DHCP ports of my ISP,allow local host resolution,allow WINS server to 127.0.0.1, permit DNSK to 127.0.0.1,permit DNS to various DNS servers of my ISP and therafter various rules ending with block all.

while on the subject could you tell me if the WINS server rule is OK. I am asking since ,though this was done on the advice of sponge,the rule itself
    was not present in the rule list imported .

Does anyone know about any other good rule set for KPFW suitable for a reasonably security conscious but regular web surfer.

4. CrazyM