Similarities & Differences

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Brenda Thomas, Jul 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Point One: I'm a newbie. Take it easy on me. But I'm learning fast.

After losing all my data, I'm now taking measures to more seriously protect my computer.

What is the difference, overlap, and/or similarities of the following:

Spybot Search and Destroy, under Tools, the 'Hosts File' which lists many bad websites.

The list in SpywareBlaster, which again seems to list many bad sites -- and updates very nicely.

The list from IE SPYAD, which also lists many (maybe the most?) bad sites.
    http://www.spywarewarrior.com/uiuc/resource.htm

And finally, the list from Ad-Watch, which is in the Ad-Aware Plus (and higher) versions. I've seen this one work for me.

Do they all do the same thing?

Can they somehow cancel each other out?

Are they redundant?

Thank you in advance for input on this question.

Best,

BT

2. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Last edited: Jul 10, 2005
  3. Oh my, there are even more...

Thanks for that info Erik.

Which leads me to ask, how many of these applications should I have? (in addition to all my other questions)

Warm Regards,

BT

4. ErikAlbert

That is a difficult question. If you ask 50 people how they protect their computer, you probably get 50 different answers.
    Alot has to do with your :
    1. personal experience/knowledge of the internet.
    2. discipline on the internet
    3. discipline on your computer
    4. degree of paranoia
    5. personal taste
    6. computer capacity.
    7. wallet

It isn't that easy and everybody has his own opinion about each security software and security setup.
    In the end it will be a PERSONAL choice, in other words YOUR choice.

Keep in mind, that whatever you do, it will never be a foolproof protection.
    That was my first disappointment in security.