ShadowUser- Update Please

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by tobacco, Mar 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tobacco

tobacco Frequent Poster

Been thinking of trying out this software and from reading opinions in other threads, seems to be held in high reguard by many users.Could current users update us on this product such as, is it still definitely worth getting, noticed problems that you didn't before.I won't be starting with a clean install so how bout compatabilitiy issues with other software e.g., F-secure, Kerio.Are there any!.And for future reference, is it compatible with Rollback RX, Aconis T.I., etc.Thanks ahead of time for any replys!.

2. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member

I have been using it for about 7 months and along with NOD32 I consider it one of my most important security softwares (even though SU doesn't really protect against anything).

It is basically designed to surf the Internet without any possibility to get infected from anything, and it just does that as advertised: Eversince I used it I had no malware, as a matter of fact I have NOD running to check for infected files just in case I might decide to save something from the next reboot (I presume you know roughly how this type of sofware works).

Lately people have been all excited about Rollback Rx and First Defense ISR, and I think they are excellent applications but they are not in the same category as ShadowUser, Deep Freeze, CleanSlate, Drive Vaccine (as a matter of fact Drive Vaccine is from the makers of Rollback Rx).

I wanted to try Rollback Rx, but their support advised me against unless I uninstall SU.

As far as problems running SU, I personally haven't had any, and I like the fact that (unlike with Deep Freeze for exemple) I can save files even in Shadow mode.