ShadowProtect vs. ATI

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by ErikAlbert, May 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

I'm trialing the full evaluation of ShadowProtect at this moment.
    It might be faster than ATI, but not as comfortable as ATI.

After zeroing my 2 harddisks, I tried to restore my system and data image, the same way as I did with ATI, but I couldn't restore any image, unless I created a partition for both harddisks.
    It took me awhile to figure that out, because I wasn't used to this.
    I don't have to do this with ATI, ATI only asks the source and destination and starts to recover. I wonder how much a total newbie would like this.
    Of course all the partition letters were wrong or gone, but I'm used to this because ATI has the same problem.
    The backup is a LITTLE more convenient and faster than ATI, but the restore is something else.
    All images were restored PROPERLY and even the partition letters were CORRECT. I wonder how SP got these partition letters right. :D The problem is that I didn't really see that my system image was written to [C:] and my data image was written to [D:] or I missed it.

Also the loading time of the Recovery CD lasts much longer than ATI and has too many waiting screens and
    they are confusing : scrolling bars, waiting messages, blank frozen colored screens without any processing info, ... until I finally got a real menu, which was a big relief.

So not everything is glamor and glitter about ShadowProtect. :)

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

hello Erik,
    at least the shadow protect desktop cd boots.
    the normal TI one never did for me.
    are you using a bartpe cd for ATI?
    the shadow protect desktop recovery cd for version 3 is ment to be faster 2.5minutes instead of 5minutes.
    I felt alot more comtable using shadow protect desktop when using the trial.