SG, continuous loop, to accept or deny

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by TeMerc, Aug 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TeMerc

TeMerc Registered Member

Hi folks, I'm a HJT analyst over at Spyware Warrior Forums, and I have a question about a particular problem.

We have a user, who gets a warning of a BHO install, gets asked to either deny or accept the install, by Spyware Guard and chooses deny, and then it continues to go, round and around, the same thing happeneing. I'm currently waiting for an updated HJT log, a we had cleaned up one of her machines previosly.

But I have seen this once or twice before.

Anyone have any ideas?

Here is the first log I did for her:
    http://spywarewarrior.com/viewtopic.php?p=25409&highlight=#25409

2. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member

Hi TeMerc,

I just looked through the thread, and there's still a few items there that need to be removed.

When this BHO was fixed with HJT, it was then replaced with another BHO, 'midaddle.dll' in the next log (they have the same CLSID's).

1st log:
    O2 - BHO: Search Help - {E8EAEB34-F7B5-4C55-87FF-720FAF53D841} - C:\Documents and Settings\Darlene Kay Anderson\Local Settings\Temp\EY.dll

2nd log:
    O2 - BHO: WinPage Affiliate - {E8EAEB34-F7B5-4C55-87FF-720FAF53D841} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\midaddle\midaddle.dll

She will have to delete the entire midaddle folder as it probably contains other malware files (I thought that was in AdAware's detection now though).

This one can be fixed also, but you knew that. ;)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)

She is saying she can't delete this one? She may have to go into Safe Mode and delete it, though it would be best to have her empty the contents of all the Temp folders.
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [y] C:\Documents and Settings\Darlene Kay Anderson\Local Settings\Temp\y.exe