Several Security Qs

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tamba1, Oct 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tamba1

tamba1 Registered Member

Hi I was not sure where to post this as it covers areas so hope here is ok...

My Fatherinlaw has just got a "refurb" Dell D600 laptop running WinXp SP2 , running windows firewall and is about to go onto broadband for the 1st time .. Upto now he has been on dialup and not ventured much onto the web..

In the past he used and liked AVG Free .. So we have intalled it on his laptop , along with AVG Antispyware..We have discussed firewalls but as he is about to get his ADSL NAT router am I right in saying a firewall like ZA is not really needed..? also his wife a complete newbie to pcs wld be very intimidated by a FW constantly checking with the "user" before certain actions carried out, however If a software fW is still recommended I was thinking about Comodo but ould like to know how Alert "noisy" this is ?

Having spent many hours on this forum I am seriously questioning if AVG Free is really the right solution for them now..

I thought NOD32 looked great , but am concerned it cld be too user unfriendly for them..

I also read about Process Patrol Programs like :-
    win Patrol, System safety monitor, I know they will ask permission before something is allowed to install. ...but does he really need these?

Online banking & Shopping Security
    I read in Wilders that "The best way to do online banking, stock trading, shopping is to use a Linux Live CD. Doesn't get any safer than that " can someone tell me a) what is Linux Live Cd, how do I get one, and what I would need to do to use this?

Sandboxie