security-tools installed on OS / boot-cd

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by gambla, Jul 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gambla

gambla Registered Member

Hello,
    a very basic question:

As there are a lot of viruses/trojans etc. that can hide when booting your OS, do scanners/"removers" that are installed and run on your OS make any sense at all ? I'm not an expert but it seems to me that you can always catch only maybe 95% of the threats. But to get theses hiding 5 % you need to scan from e.g. BartPE anyway ?

thank you + kind regards :)

2. gambla

gambla Registered Member

Nobody ? Is my english too bad ? :(

3. m00nbl00d

m00nbl00d Registered Member

It's a always good idea to scan your system from the outside, as in with live CDs, as you mentioned. This, because they (malware) can conceal them selves from installed anti-malware tools.

4. Windchild

Windchild Registered Member

Nothing wrong with your English. :) It's just that the answer to the question is somewhat obvious, and you already seem to know it. ;)

Do scanners that are installed on a potentially infected OS make sense? Sure, a little. Generally the AV scanner is installed to prevent infections in the first place, but as we've seen, that often fails. When the system is already infected, the scanner becomes even less effective, since malwares may try all kinds of attacks against them, from simple forced termination to attempting to hide its files with rootkit techniques. Sometimes the scanner can deal with this, often it can't.

Now, if you boot from a clean boot cd such as BartPE based and run scanners from there, that'll work somewhat better in many cases, since the malware isn't active and can't attempt to mess with the scanners. Many antivirus companies have bootable discs to run their scanners, like
    - DrWeb AV live CD http://www.freedrweb.com/livecd/