Security setup?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kuroudo Akabane, Jul 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kuroudo Akabane

Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

Ok, so I'm very new to computers and I'm using a HP 110 Mini netbook with the 32bit version of Windows XP Home...

I have about 120GB HDD and 1GB RAM. I have IE and FF as my browsers and FF is my primary choice.

I have the Windows Firewall and Automatic Updates turned on...

What other programs should I instal and why?

And how should I configure them so they don't interfere with each other or my normal internet usage?

2. Dark Shadow

Dark Shadow Registered Member

My first suggestion would be is if you do not need to run your system as a admin would be set up a standard limited user account as it can alleviate most problems.

secondly I would install a Antivirus program if you have not done so already.

There is so much we all can recommend but start off adding things slowly.I recommend you first read this excellent thread. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=252253

3. RJK3

RJK3 Registered Member

4. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

When I was running XP on a system with 1 GB of RAM I felt plagued by under-performance when browsing. Switching from IE to Chrome made a very noticeable difference. You didn't mention such issues, so maybe you're good in that department. :)

5. Kuroudo Akabane

That's the plan.

Why I am here... suggestions for an active program to run in the background and an on-demand scanner?

Looking for free software.

After that I'll consider if I need anything else like a a sandbox program, etc.

Thanks, tried using the scanners that it suggests, they didn't work.

BitDefender used it and removed it... said nothing was detected.

Kaspersky Lab and Eset didn't finish so I removed them.

F-Secure keeps closing my browser.

McAfee have been told this company sucks, didn't try it.