Security for a beginner?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by laststopsuburbia, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm a beginner in security, and am trying to learn as much as possible. Besides having a firewall, what are the best options for protecting my computer from trojans, viruses, keeping a hacker off my computer, etc?

I have AVG Free Edition for the AV, but would like to know if I need more protection to keep hackers and trojans/viruses out.

The software doesn't have to be free, but because I'm not very familiar with security programs, files, etc. it does need to be user friendly, and also light on system resources. Any help would be very much appreciated. I guess I'm looking for user friendly programs that would delete trojans and other stuff, but more importantly, programs that would prevent any "hacker" and viruses in the first place. Thanks a lot in advance!

2. lucas1985

lucas1985 Retired Moderator

Add AVG Antispyware or SUPERAntySpyware :)
    You should learn how to develop a security strategy which doesn´t depend on blacklist scanners (antivirus/antispyware/anti-trojan/antimalware)

3. lodore

lodore Registered Member

alternite browser like opera or firefox should help.
    what firewall do you use?
    do you visit any dangerous sites?
    have you been infected with any malware?
    nod32,kaspersky,bitdefender or drweb all have better detection than avg free.

lodore

4. JerryM

JerryM Registered Member

Dr Webo_O?

Jerry

5. Long View

Long View Registered Member

(1) You don't say whether you have a Hardware firewall or software. If you are using a usb modem I would look to replace it with a good ( but inexpensive) hardware firewall router.

(2) Then consider using Firefox with NoScript add on.

(3) Pay for an e-mail service that runs a virus, and spam check. I use www.netaddress.com .