Security advice requested

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by NDBrandon, Apr 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NDBrandon

NDBrandon Registered Member

Hello, this is my first post on these forums. I have been reading and learning for about a week and I have decided to start a thread of my own. I have seen similar threads and have been impressed with the quick and informative responses.

I am a computer novice that has been recently informed of the many security threats I am exposed to by being connected to the internet and I have found these forums to be an excellent resource for my research on how to protect my home computers/network.

I am writing to request general guidance and advice regarding my home computer network security.

Hardware
    I have 2 home computers: a desktop with Vista and a laptop with Windows XP Media Center. They connect to the internet through a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router. The firewall is enabled. I do not broadcast the wireless signal.

Activities
    I generally use my computers for online banking, personal e-mail, shopping, and gaming.

What I think I know
    I avoid including deleting suspicious e-mails, not opening up unknown e-mail attachments, surfing with Mozilla instead of IE, etc.

What I don't know
    I am generally naive about internet security and am hoping for some advice about activities to avoid and ways to protect my personal information.

Key goals/criteria
    I am most concerned about identity theft and bank account theft. I want to keep my online communication secure and private. I am not as concerned about if my computer and/or files is destroyed by a virus, although of course I want to take steps to prevent that from happening Ideally, I want a simple solution that requires little input/maintenance from me. Cost is not as important as being able to install a program, make a few tweaks, and let it do its job quietly and effectively.