Scripts.exe Help

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by tchc33, Feb 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tchc33
    Offline

    tchc33 Registered Member

    Hi All,

    I've generated a script to resize the "C" drive which I'd like to use as part of an XP rebuild process. When I run the script against scripts.exe all I get is a dos box with the word "Raid5". Whatever command I input to scripts.exe I always get "Raid5" as the output.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks
  2. Paragon_MattK
    Offline

    Paragon_MattK Paragon Moderator

    I'd be happy to take a look, can you post your script? Or at least part of it?
  3. tchc33
    Offline

    tchc33 Registered Member

    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply. I'd love to post the script but I'm in the middle of rebuilding the machine so can't access it.

    If it helps, no matter what script I generated, whether is was partition resize (what I want), creating a partition or removing a partition, scripts.exe would always output "Raid5" Even if I run scripts.exe on it's own the output would be the same.

    I'm rebuilding the test machine to take any other software etc out of the equation.

    Any help you can give would be gratefully recieved.
  4. tchc33
    Offline

    tchc33 Registered Member

    I should add I am testing what we want to do on similar hardware we will be running the rebuild on; IBM desktop machine with a standard IDE single hard disk.

    Thanks
  5. tchc33
    Offline

    tchc33 Registered Member

    Hi,

    I've reinstalled on a clean XP machine and no longer get the "Raid5" message. When I run a created script now, I get:

    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...:Unknown option "vss2hbswitch" in SETTINGS Block.
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Grammar error. There is no rule which contains such word: "ON"
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Grammar error. There is no rule which contains such word: "vssattempts"
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Missing ':' in label before "3".
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Grammar error. There is no rule which contains such word: "vsstimeout".
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Missing ':' in label before "120
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Grammar error. There is no rule which contains such word: "ENDSETTINGS"
    <script name> :34: Disconnecting Virtual Hard Disk "%s"...: Grammar error. There is no rule which contains such word: "CONFIRM"

    When I remove the offending 3 lines from the "SETTINGS" portion of the script, I get the message;
    "Can't create the 5th primary partition. Source partition will be deleted! Command line error.: Invalid operation code.

    These errors are from any script generated from a resize/move operation, there is only one hard drive with two partitions on it.

    Any help would be great! Thanks.
  6. tchc33
    Offline

    tchc33 Registered Member

    Hi, here's the contents of one of the scripts I use although it doesn't matter whate the script does (resize, delete partition etc) the error message is the same.

    Please help!!!

    // This file was automatically generated by {VENDOR_NAME} script generator
    // Use {VENDOR_NAME} Script Interpretator to run this file
    // Time of creation: Fri Feb 05 13:46:46 2010


    // Settings block
    settings
    surfacetest off
    verify off
    copyonetoone off
    hddrawprocess off
    allow64kcluster off
    donothidetarget on
    copyinsteadofmove off
    bigdrives off
    compressionlevel 1
    sidafterdisk off
    sidafterpartition off
    defaultsidchanger on
    nodellabel off
    timeshift 0
    oemcodepage 850
    timezone 20
    langnumber 17
    slavecfg off
    notforslave off
    enablerestart on
    enablevirtualdb on
    autoconverttofat32 on
    sidparams ""
    bootcdiso ".\..\ISO\bootcd.iso"
    hotbackup lockimpossible
    tempdrive C
    vss2hbswitch on
    vssattempts 3
    vsstimeout 120
    endsettings

    // Turn off confirmation
    confirm off

    // Move partition
    print "Move partition"
    print ""
    select disk 0
    select partition primary 1
    move /size = 67377681 /position = 21476763 move_resize

    // Check for errors
    call check_error

    // Apply all scheduled operations
    apply all

    // Check for errors
    call check_error

    // Exiting
    // exit(0)

    // Function for checking error
    check_error:
    if (errorcode(1) != 0)
    then
    print "Some error occured: "
    strerror(errorcode(1))
    print ""
    print "Exiting"
    print ""
    exit(errorcode(1))
    endif
    endcall
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2010
  7. Paragon_MattK
    Offline

    Paragon_MattK Paragon Moderator

    Try this and let me know how it goes.

    // This file was automatically generated by {VENDOR_NAME} script generator
    // Use {VENDOR_NAME} Script Interpretator to run this file
    // Time of creation: Fri Feb 05 13:46:46 2010

    SCO ON
    // Settings block
    settings
    surfacetest off
    verify off
    copyonetoone off
    hddrawprocess off
    allow64kcluster off
    donothidetarget on
    copyinsteadofmove off
    bigdrives off
    compressionlevel 1
    sidafterdisk off
    sidafterpartition off
    defaultsidchanger on
    nodellabel off
    timeshift 0
    oemcodepage 850
    timezone 20
    langnumber 17
    slavecfg off
    notforslave off
    enablerestart on
    enablevirtualdb on
    autoconverttofat32 on
    sidparams ""
    bootcdiso ".\..\ISO\bootcd.iso"
    hotbackup lockimpossible
    tempdrive C

    endsettings

    // Turn off confirmation
    confirm off

    // Move partition
    print "Move partition"
    print ""
    select disk 0
    select partition primary 1
    move /size = 67377681 /position = 21476763 move_resize

    // Check for errors
    call check_error

    // Apply all scheduled operations
    apply all

    // Check for errors
    call check_error

    // Exiting
    // exit(0)

    // Function for checking error
    check_error:
    if (errorcode(1) != 0)
    then
    print "Some error occured: "
    strerror(errorcode(1))
    print ""
    print "Exiting"
    print ""
    exit(errorcode(1))
    endif
    endcall
  8. tchc33
    Offline

    tchc33 Registered Member

    Thought I'd let everyone know what the problems were in case anyone else get's the same errors.

    The raid5 message was because I was running scripts.exe with the gui open, the reason it said "raid5" and not "the gui is still open" or something is because we have version 10 of PM and version 9 of the extensions which included scripts.exe. that's also why when the gui was closed, the scripts didn't run. Version 10 was creating syntax in the scripts that version 9 of scripts.exe didn't understand.

    Cheers everyone.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.