sandboxie problems

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by vinnyutd6899, Dec 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vinnyutd6899

vinnyutd6899 Registered Member

hi im new to sandboxie and need help!
    I installed it last night.
    just now I deleted everything in sandboxie and now all the passwords and bookmarks I have stored since last night have gone.
    I know there is probably a really easy solution to this but can someone explain to me what I have to do to stop this happening again cheers!

2. crofttk

crofttk Registered Member

Re: sandboxie preblems

I'm new to it also but, as far as bookmarks (assume you mean Favorites as in Internet Explorer), you can go into settings and for Applications/Web Browser and check the box "Allow Direct Acess to Internet Explorer Favorites" and then marked favorites will persist after shutdown.

I never allow password storage but, then again, I have Roboform for that.

3. Reimer

Reimer Registered Member

It depends on what browser you use.

For example, I use Firefox and I like to keep history, cookies, bookmarks, and such while using Sandboxie.

So you go to your sandbox settings and go to

Resource Access -> File Access -> Direct Access

for firefox.exe, I add the following line that applies to my profile folder for Firefox

"%AppData%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\2dohm071.Default User\*.sqlite"

This line allows the Sandboxed Firefox to access my real profile folder and all the files that are in 'sqlite' format which Firefox version 3 and above uses for cookies, bookmarks, and history.

4. vinnyutd6899

vinnyutd6899 Registered Member

cheers guys i seem to have sorted the bookmark problem out in firefox, but im still having problems with cookies and saved bookmarks disappearing when i delete everything from sandboxie o_O

5. ambient_88

ambient_88 Registered Member

You can allow Sandboxie to access the profile folder of Firefox that is outside of the sandbox. Just go to: