Sandboxie - Newbie Setup

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by TheKid7, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

I am a Sandboxie Newbie (Registered). Please share your recommended configuration(s) for Sandboxie Newbies.

I have done the following:

1. Added firefox.exe and iexplore.exe to "Forced Programs".
    2. Added firefox.exe and iexplore.exe to "Internet Access" under "Resource Access".
    3. Checked the option to "Automatically delete contents of sandbox" under Delete/Invocation.
    4. Added a download folder under Quick Recovery.

I have seen the ini file modifications in other Posts on WildersSecurity but these may be confusing to many Newbies.

Thank you.

2. chrome_sturmen

chrome_sturmen Registered Member

You may want to enable immediate recovery, which allows you to recover downloaded files when they are created rather than having to manually evoke recovery or wait until the sandbox is deleted.

Under the applications/web browser tab, you may want to enable "allow direct access to mozilla firefox and seamonkey bookmarks":ninja:

3. Doodler

Doodler Registered Member

Do you want to protect any folders on your system from being accessed by programs in a sandbox (such as if you pick up a keylogger)? If so, then you would want to identify them via Blocked Access.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  4. chrome_sturmen

chrome_sturmen Registered Member

Good recommendation doodler- I may experiment with that myself. :shifty:

5. fce

fce Registered Member

i included my drive D (Data folders) via Blocked Access.....lets see what will happen

6. fce

fce Registered Member

do i need to sandbox my outlook?

is there a feature from sandboxie (the same as Defensewall "go banking") that let me do banking online more safer?

7. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator