Running virus scan... displayed in Word.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Rifter, May 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rifter

    Rifter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Here is our problem. When we open up word, we get the message "Running virus scan..." at the bottom. The problem, is that it stays there forever, and it over-lays the other status bar messages, and you can't see other Word information. This is a pretty serious problem for some of our users. I can't figure out how to remove that over-lay. In Word, you can right click the status bar, and add/remove items. But, it seems that this item is not available there, AND it does not play nice with the existing items.
     
  2. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Which versions of Word? Which versions of Eset? I don't see this issue with Word 2007 SP2 and EST EAVBE 4.0.424.


    Jim
     
  3. Rifter

    Rifter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    The latest version of word, though, I am running 4.0.314. I am trying to figure out now, how to make Nod32 update itself, automatically. I really don't want to have to push down every executable update to our clients, by hand. I will test with the newer client, when I get this figured out.
     
  4. Rifter

    Rifter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Ok, this issue has been rectified in Office SP 2. I didn't notice that a new SP came out recently.

    In the SP 2 list of changes... there is this:
    The status bar displays "Running Virus Scan" for all new documents, and the message persists until a user action updates the status bar.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.